The Comet Is Coming, imminent collision

London-based trio keeps on furthering its psychedelic explorations announcing a new Cosmic-Jazz album.

After being nominated for Mercury Prizes for their acclaimed debut Channel the Spirits released in 2016, The Comet Is Coming maintains the almost cult-like mystery surrounding them with a new burst of organic Free Jazz.

They say they make music for “these times of crisis and chaos”. Their second release, Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery is all about the idea of “finding a meaning in the ungraspable and believing in a primordial energy”.

The pre-apocalyptically-named trio has put two excerpts from this new issue into orbit. “Unity” is a futuristic and melancolic Ballad, both discreet and powerful, while “Summon The Fire” shows a fervent rock-like energy.

Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery will be released on March 19th in Impulse Records. Pre-order it here.

Read Next: Hailu Mergia: Taxi to Ethio-Jazz

The Comet Is Coming, collision imminente

Le trio londonien continue ses explorations psychédéliques en annonçant un nouvel album qui propulse le jazz sur une autre planète.

Fiers de leur nomination aux Mercury Prizes avec leur premier album remarqué Channel the Spirits sorti en 2016, le groupe au nom explicitement pré-apocalyptique The Comet Is Coming entretient plus que jamais le mystère presque sectaire qui les entoure avec une nouvelle salve de free-jazz organique.

Ils composent de la musique pour « ces temps de crise et de chaos », disent-ils, et le titre de leur second opus Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery tourne autour de l’idée de « trouver un sens dans ce qui est insaisissable et croire en l’existence d’une énergie primordiale. »

C’est donc depuis l’espace que le trio a déjà satellisé deux extraits en forme de questions existentielles. « Unity » est une balade futuriste et mélancolique, à la fois discrète et puissante, tandis que « Summon The Fire » montre une facette plus ardente à l’énergie presque rock, ce qui laisse présager un album passionnant…

Revisitez Retour vers l’(afro)futur de la comète Shabaka, notre interview du saxophoniste de The Comet is Coming.

Sortie le 15 mars 2019 sur le label Impulse. Pré-commandez le sur ici.

Lire ensuite : Jazzmen fous d’Afrique : Barney Wilen revient d’Afrique avec un ovni, Moshi