Ugandan MC Swordman Kitala collaborates with Tom Blip on “Kitala Beat”

Great collaboration between UK and Uganda.

For Blip Discs’ eighth release, boss label Tom Blip announces a two track single recorded with Swordman Kitala, a young MC affiliated with the ever formidable Nyege Nyege crew from Kampala, Uganda. You might hear him on Cirofox’s “Life Ain’t Easy“.

The A-side “Kitala Beat” presents a production built on a skippy 808 drum machine-driven rhythms that sounds like a good Neptunes hit, whilst the B side presents a completely reimagined ‘Funky Mix’ of the same vocals with a more percussive and harder style.

Swordman (pron: swad-man) Kitala’s early experience performing as an MC came around with Boutiq Electroniq, the club night of which he is affiliated with and mentions on the release. It was the ‘Boutiq’ nights that provided one of the only places you could hear contemporary African electronic music such as kuduro, balani and soukous in the city of Kampala.

These small, intimate yet influential local club nights would eventually play a key role in the upstart of Nyege Nyege, the festival at which Tom Blip would meet Swordman Kitala.

Find Swordman Kitala at Nyege Nyege Festival, from 5th to 8th September in Jinja, Uganda.

Kitala Beat by Tom Blip & Swordman Kitala, release on 12th September 2019. Pre-order via Bandcamp.

Read next: Nyege Nyege explores Ugandan electronic acholi history

Le MC ougandais Swordman Kitala collabore avec Tom Blip sur ‘Kitala Beat’

Encore une jolie collaboration entre l’Angleterre et l’Ouganda.

Pour la huitième sortie Blip Discs, le boss du label anglais annonce un deux titres enregistré en collaboration avec Swordman Kitala, rappeur de Kampala, la capitale d’Ouganda. Le MC est un proche du crew Nyege Nyege vous avez pu l’entendre poser sur « Life Ain’t Easy » de Cirofox.

Intitulé « Kitala Beat », le premier morceau du projet se construit autour d’un beat de boite à rythmes 808 minimaliste aux allures de hit des Neptunes, sur lequel Swordman rappe à la fois en luganda et en anglais. Le deuxième titre est un « Funky Mix » de « Kitala Beat », qui reprend les mêmes vocales dans un style plus musclé.

Swordman (prononcé « swad-man ») Kitala a débuté en tant que MC lors des soirées au club Boutiq Electroniq, le seul endroit à Kampala où l’on pouvait entendre de la musique électronique africaine comme le kuduro, le balani ou le soukous.

Retrouvez Swordman Kitala au Nyege Nyege Festival, du 5 au 8 septembre à Jinja en Ouganda.

Kitala Beat de Tom Blip & Swordman Kitala, sortie le 12 septembre 2019. Pré-commandez le sur Bandcamp.

Lire ensuite : Nyege Nyege retrace les débuts de l’electro acholi