Listen to this fantastic soca version of Sade’s ‘Sweetest Taboo’

Soundway Records reissues 1986’s cult cover of the British hit by Caribbean soca band Rebles, and announces a forthcoming soca compilation.

In the late 1980’s, D’ Rebel’s Band aka Rebles where one of the main bands to shape and export the soca sound outside of the Caribbean. Led by trombonist Denniston Young, they blended electronic sounds with local popular music.

They released on and were the house band of Brooklyn-based label Strakers, one of the largest  Caribbean music labels. Between the 1970’s and the 2000’s, Strakers released hundreds of calypso and soca records.

Among these records, was the Rebles’ cover of the 1985 British hit, “Sweetest Taboo” by Sade. This peculiar reinterpretation became popular among contemporary DJs, the prices of the few copies rising consequently. This year’s reissue will thus please quite a lot of selector’s ears, and their audience’s as well.

Sweetest Taboo (Soca), out on June 7th 2019. Order it on Bandcamp.

read Next: Guts, inner journey of a modest and funky beat-digger

Découvrez la fantastique version soca du tube de Sade ‘Sweetest Taboo’

Soundway Records réédite la reprise culte de 1986 faite par le groupe caribéen Rebles, et annonce une compilation de soca prévue pour cette année.

Dans les années 1980, D’ Rebel’s Band aka Rebles ont été un des principaux groupes à définir et exporter le son soca en dehors des Caraïbes, alors même que les sonorités électroniques infiltraient de plus en plus les musiques populaires.

Le groupe, mené par le tromboniste Denniston Young était un des grand noms du label caribéen basé à Brooklyn Strakers Records, qui a sorti des centaines de disques de soca et de calypso entre les années 1970 et 2000.

La reprise du tube de 1985 du groupe anglais Sade par Rebles est devenue prisée de nombreux DJs contemporains amateurs d’éclectisme dans leurs sets. Cette ré-issue, parue le 7 juin dernier, ravira donc les oreilles des sélecteurs curieux, tout autant que celles de leur public.

Sweetest Taboo (Soca), sortie le 7 juin 2019. Commandez-le sur Bandcamp.

Lire ensuite : Guts, voyage intérieur d’un beat-digger simple et funky