Miriam Makeba: “Come Back Africa”

Miriam Makeba, and the fight goes on (episode 2). Starting out in a country that then turned out to feel like a prison, the singer eventually realizes her success and moves abroad.

Read the article while listening to our Miriam Makeba playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

It’s the mid-1950s, and Zenzi Miriam Makeba has made herself known on the stages of her native country. She records new songs with the Manhattan Brothers, and the label Gallotone makes her the star of a new band, the Skylarks.

With her three sisters, she would rehearse on the rooftops of the labels HQ and, as soon as the song was composed, they would all run into the studio to record it immediately, as if they were afraid of forgetting it. The producers in time offer them a tape recorder! 
 


Their repertoire, typical of the kwela jazz era (“kwela” is a small flute used in the South African townships), range from sentimental songs to nostalgic testimonies of the brutal changes their country was then living.
 


EIn February 1955, the 45,000 inhabitants (mainly Black, mixed-race, Indian and Chinese) of the Sophiatown district in Johannesburg were forcibly displaced and relocated even further out of the city, into remote suburban areas. Sophiatown had become one of the last areas of diversity in the city. It represented the heart of the city’s cultural life, where Black musicians, writers, dancers and journalists (including those of the famous magazine Drum) rubbed shoulders in the many shebeens, a type of clandestine bar. After evicting its inhabitants, the apartheid regime subtly renamed Sophiatown “Triomf” (for “triumph”). The song “Remember Sophiatown” is a direct reference to these events.

Miriam Makeba appeared on the bill of the African Jazz and Variety show, the first Black show that was allowed in venues usually reserved only for Whites. She shares the bill with her childhood idol, Dorothy Masuka, but also with the first South African star of Indian ancestry, Sonny Pilay. She eventually falls in love with Sonny, despite the prejudices, strengthened by apartheid, that condemned interracial relationships
 


The producer of the show – a White man – even succeeds in booking it at the City Hall of Johannesburg, a first for a Black show. This is where filmmaker Lionel Rogosin discovers the singer, and asks her to participate in the filming of a movie. The film’s intention was to tell the life of Black people in South Africa, through the story of Zacharia, a young Black man who moves to Johannesburg to find work. Makeba would play her own role, that of a singer, performing in a shebeen. The film project, titled Come Back Africa (after the name of a song by the A.N.C.) obviously is not approved by the authorities, forcing the team to shoot clandestinely. Miriam’s scene is shot in the middle of the night, at one o’clock in the morning. In the shebeen, a group of men are in the midst of a conversation about politics. When they see Miriam come in, they ask her to sing for them.

 


The director then asked Makeba to apply for a passport. He sought to share her talents outside of South Africa during promotion of the film. 
  


Having just finished an extensive tour (18 months) with African Jazz and Variety, she directly takes on one of the leading roles of a jazz opera titled King Kong, a tribute to the life of famous Black boxer, Ezekiel Dlamini, nicknamed “King Kong”. The White authorities prevented him from participating in fights abroad, to avoid him defeating White boxers and returning home as a hero. King Kong sank into alcoholism and ended up in jail after killing his girlfriend. There he would meet his suspicious death, where he was found drowned in a shallow waterhole…

White people produce, write and stage the show. All are Jewish, and are undoubtedly more mindful of the violence of segregation which recalls the situation of the Jews of Germany on the eve of the Second World War. Makeba emphasizes this point in her autobiography: “It is a fact that Jews run the theatre industry in South Africa. And it is a fact that Jews were the only ones to help Africans. In the theatre we are not forced to call the director “Baas” (“boss”) just because he is white; we call him boss because he is who directs!” Nathan Mdlhedlhe and Joe Mogotsi, her fellow comrades in the Manhattan Brothers, respectively play King Kong and his best friend, Lucky. As for Miriam, she holds the role of a shebeen queen: both the boxer’s girlfriend and the owner of a clandestine bar called Back Of The Moon. This is the title of one of the signature songs she performs on stage and on record. Among the musicians, she becomes friends with a young trumpet player named Hugh Masekela, already destined for a great future. 
 

Miriam Makeba dans l’opéra jazz King Kong


The show is a success, and is sold out in Johannesburg for six months. The producers managed to get around the laws of apartheid by programming King Kong in one of the few places of racial diversity, a campus of a university! Therefore, all audiences are welcome to attend.

On the eve of a tour of the provinces, the singer passes just outside a hospital… but as the building is reserved for Whites, they have to transport her 20 km away! She is operated on there, and is diagnosed with an ectopic pregnancy. She has to be substituted for a few weeks before rejoining the troupe in Cape Town. She then receives news from Lionel Rogosin, the director of Come Back Africa. He asks her to join him at the Venice International Film Festival to present the movie. It is then that Miriam remembers a prediction made by a spirit (“amadlozi”) speaking through her mother’s mouth – she became a “isangoma”, a medium and a traditional healer. The mind spoke for her: “Miriam will leave South Africa for a long journey and will never come back.” She doesn’t really know if she should believe it, but before flying away, she makes one last stop at the studio and records “Miriam’s Goodbye to Africa”. A farewell song penned by Gibson Kente, whose impact she may not yet have fully measured. She also recorded one of her best-known songs, “Iphi Ndilela”, which in Zulu language means “I ask you to show me the way”. 
 

“Take care, my people,
I am leaving
I’m going to the country of the White man
I ask you to be with me
To show me the way
We will meet again on my return
I make this promise”
Iphi Ndlhela, 1959


She flies out to Venice in August 1959. Without knowing yet that a new life is beginning for her, under the celebrity spotlight, on the North American stages and in the ceremonies of independence of an Africa which would free itself from the colonial yoke. Nor does she know that when boarding South African Airways plane, she would not see her home country again for the next 35 years.

Listen to our playlist Miriam Makeba on Spotify and Deezer.

Read the other episodes of our series Miriam Makeba, and the fight goes on.

Cover photo: Miriam Makeba by photographer Jürgen Schadeberg

Miriam Makeba : « Come Back Africa »

Miriam Makeba, la lutte continue (épisode 2). Après ses débuts dans un pays qui se mue en prison, la chanteuse connaît le succès et s’envole pour l’étranger.

Lisez l’article en écoutant notre playlist Miriam Makeba sur Spotify et Deezer.

En ce milieu des années 50, Zenzi Miriam Makeba s’est fait un nom sur les scènes de son pays. Elle enregistre de nouvelles chansons avec les Manhattan Brothers, et la maison de disques Gallotone fait d’elle la vedette d’un nouveau groupe, les Skylarks.

Avec ses trois consœurs, elle répète sur le toit du label et, dès qu’une chanson est au point, elles courent toutes quatre en studio pour enregistrer séance tenante, de peur d’oublier. Les producteurs finissent par leur offrir un magnétophone ! 


Leur répertoire, typiques de l’époque kwela jazz (du nom de la kwela, petite flûte des townships sud-africains), vont des chansons sentimentales au témoignage nostalgique des changements brutaux que vit le pays. 
 


En février 1955, les 45 000 habitants (essentiellement noirs, métis, indiens et chinois) du quartier de Sophiatown, en plein Johannesburg, sont déplacés de force et relogés bien plus loin, dans des quartiers périphériques réservés. Sophiatown était devenu l’un des derniers îlots de mixité, et le cœur de la vie culturelle de la ville, où musiciens, écrivains, danseurs et journalistes noirs (notamment ceux du fameux magazine Drum) se côtoyaient dans les shebeens, les débits de boisson clandestins. Après expulsion de ses habitants, avec toute la finesse dont le régime d’Apartheid est capable, Sophiatown est rebaptisé Triomf (triomphe). La chanson « 
Remember Sophiatown » s’en fait l’écho.

Miriam Makeba est également à l’affiche d’une grande revue, African Jazz and Variety, le premier spectacle noir qui peut tourner aussi dans les salles réservées aux blancs. Elle partage l’affiche avec son idole de jeunesse, Dorothy Masuka, mais aussi avec la première vedette sud-africaine d’origine indienne, Sonny Pilay, dont elle tombe amoureuse, en dépit des préjugés, renforcés par l’apartheid, qui condamnent les relations interraciales. 
 


Le producteur blanc du spectacle parvient même à programmer la revue à l’hôtel de ville de Johannesbourg, une première pour un spectacle noir ! C’est là que le cinéaste Lionel Rogosin la découvre, et lui demande de participer au tournage de son film qui racontera la vie des noirs en Afrique du Sud, à travers l’histoire d’un jeune noir, Zacharia, venu à Johannesbourg trouver du travail. Elle doit y tenir son propre rôle, celui d’une chanteuse, dans un shebeen (bar clandestin). Le projet de film, baptisé
Come Back Africa (d’après le nom d’un chant de l’A.N.C.) n’est évidemment pas approuvé par les autorités, obligeant l’équipe à tourner dans la clandestinité. C’est ainsi que la scène où intervient Miriam se tourne en pleine nuit, à une heure du matin. Dans le shebeen, les hommes présents sont en pleine discussion politique. Quand ils voient Miriam entrer, ils lui demandent de chanter pour eux. 
 


Le réalisateur a demandé à Makeba de faire une demande de passeport. Il espère bien faire découvrir son talent hors d’Afrique du Sud lors de la promotion du film. 


Alors que Miriam vient de finir la longue tournée (18 mois) d’African Jazz and Variety, elle enchaîne sur l’un des premiers rôles d’un Opéra jazz baptisé King Kong, d’après la vie d’un célèbre boxeur noir, Ezekiel Dlamini, surnommé King Kong, que les autorités blanches empêchèrent d’aller combattre à l’extérieur du pays, pour éviter qu’il ne triomphe de boxeurs blancs et ne revienne en héros au pays. King Kong sombra dans l’alcool et finit en prison après avoir tué sa petite amie. Il y trouva une mort suspecte, puisqu’on le retrouva noyé dans un trou d’eau… très peu profond.

Ce sont des blancs qui produisent, écrivent et mettent en scène le spectacle. Tous sont juifs, et sans doute plus sensibles à la violence de la ségrégation qui rappelle la situation des juifs d’Allemagne à la veille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Makeba le souligne dans son autobiographie : « C’est un fait que les juifs en Afrique du Sud tiennent le théâtre. Et c’est un fait que les juifs sont les seuls à aider les Africains. Au théâtre nous ne sommes pas obligés d’appeler le metteur en scène Baas (boss) parce qu’il est blanc, nous l’appelons patron parce que c’est lui qui dirige !) ». Nathan Mdlhedlhe et Joe Mogotsi, ses compagnons des Manhattan Brothers jouent respectivement les rôles de King Kong et de son meilleur ami, Lucky. Quant à Miriam, elle tient le rôle d’une shebeen queen (reine du shebeen), petite amie du boxeur et tenancière d’un bar clandestin baptisé Back Of the Moon. C’est le titre d’une des chansons phares qu’elle interprète sur scène et sur disque. Parmi les musiciens, elle se lie d’amitié avec un tout jeune trompettiste du nom de Hugh Masekela, promis à un grand avenir. 
 

Miriam Makeba dans l’opéra jazz King Kong


Le spectacle est un succès, et se joue à Johannesbourg six mois durant à guichets fermés.
Les producteurs ont réussi à contourner les lois de l’apartheid en programmant King Kong dans l’un des rares lieux de mixité raciale, le campus de l’université ! Tous les publics peuvent donc y assister.

À la veille de partir en tournée dans les provinces, la chanteuse perd connaissance juste devant l’hôpital… mais comme c’est celui qui est réservé aux blancs, on la transporte 20 km plus loin ! Elle y est opérée, suite à une grossesse extra-utérine, et doit être remplacée durant quelques semaines avant de rejoindre la troupe de King-Kong au Cap. C’est là qu’elle reçoit des nouvelles de Lionel Rogosin, le réalisateur de Come Back Africa. Il lui demande de le rejoindre au Festival International du film de Venise pour présenter le film. C’est alors que Miriam se souvient d’une prédiction faite par l’un des esprits (amadlozi) parlant à travers la bouche de sa mère, qui est devenue isangoma, médium et guérisseuse traditionnelle. L’esprit a parlé : « Miriam quittera l’Afrique du Sud pour un long voyage et ne reviendra jamais ». Elle ne sait trop si elle doit y croire, mais avant de s’envoler, elle fait une dernière halte en studio et enregistre « Miriam’s Goodbye to Africa« . Une chanson d’adieu signée Gibson Kente dont elle ne mesure peut-être pas encore totalement la portée. Elle enregistre aussi l’un des ses titres les plus connus, « Iphi Ndela« , ce qui en zulu signifie « je vous demande de me montrer le chemin ». 
 

« Porte-toi bien mon peuple,
Je m’en vais
Je m’en vais dans le pays de l’homme blanc
Je te demande d’être avec moi
Pour me montrer le chemin
Nous nous reverrons à mon retour
J’en fais la promesse »
Iphi Ndlhela, 1959


Elle s’envole pour Venise en août 1959. Sans savoir encore qu’une nouvelle vie débute pour elle, sous les feux de la rampe et les flashes des photographes, sur les scènes américaines et dans les cérémonies d’indépendance d’une Afrique qui se libère du joug colonial. Elle ne sait pas non plus qu’en montant dans l’avion de la South African Airways, elle ne reverra plus son pays natal pendant 35 ans.

Écoutez notre playlist Miriam Makeba sur Spotify et Deezer.

Retrouvez les autres épisodes de notre série Miriam Makeba, la lutte continue.

Photo Une : Miriam Makeba par le photographe Jürgen Schadeberg