Orchestre Poly-Rythmo: from the streets to the worldwide groove

© Youri Lenquette
© Youri Lenquette

“We went to the school of the streets”

We met Vincent Ahehehinnou, historical singer of Benin’s Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou.

This very prolific African orchestra has been playing for almost 50 years and has released more than 500 records. The “Tout Puissant” Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou has just released Madjafalao, and decided to hit the road and perform their multi-groove to European audiences. Earlier this month in Paris, The Benin-based band was the last-minute guest of the Tropical Discoteq night that took place in a hip restaurant of the beautiful public garden Buttes Chaumont. The band played at the audience level, just next to them, without stage or lighting, but with a perfect sound and an irresistible groove that generated a strong enthusiasm among the attendees that night. A few minutes before the show, we had a little conversation with historic singer Vincent Ahehehinnou – he’s the voice you can hear on Poly-Rythmo’s 1973 hit “Ou c’est lui ou c’est moi“.


“WE DON’T EVEN POSSESS OUR OWN RECORDS OURSELVES! YOU CAN FIND THEM ON THE WEB FOR RIDICULOUSLY HIGH PRICES – 500€, 800€… BACK THEN, THE RECORDS WERE PRESSED IN NIGERIA, AND THEY WOULD BECOME DISTORTED BECAUSE OF THE HEAVY HEAT.”


Pan African Music: You’ve released more than 500 records ; do you own a copy for each one of them? Is it still possible to find the original pressings ?

Vincent Ahehehinnou: We don’t even possess our own records ourselves! You can find them on the web for ridiculously high prices – 500€, 800€… Poly-Rythmo’s vinyl albums make records dealers rich today, and I do like that! I’m glad that we can make those people happy : they tried hard to find original copies of our albums. Back then, the records were pressed in Nigeria, and they would become distorted because of the heavy heat. So what’s left today are the ones produced in France or in the UK, which last longer.

The name Poly-Rythmo comes from your ability to play many different rhythms and musical genres: how would you define the band’s project since you’ve started in 1968?

In 2018 we’ll celebrate our 50th anniversary, and we’ve always followed the same path – yet winding sometimes. Imagine that you are on a road, and you pass along a fruit shop, then a shoe shop, etc. On the very same road, you’d see all these opportunities. Well the same goes for the path we chose for Poly-Rythmo: all those musical genres are here along our way.


“THROUGH SOME OF OUR FRIENDS WHO WERE COMING FROM ELITE FAMILIES AND HAD ENOUGH MONEY TO BUY RECORDS, WE COULD LISTEN TO THE ALBUMS, AT LAST! THIS WAY, WHEN OUR REGULAR AUDIENCE ASKED US TO PERFORM A SONG THEY HEARD ON THE RADIO, WE WOULD GET THE VINYL RECORD, LEARN THE ARRANGEMENTS, AND WE’D PERFORM IT THE NEXT WEEK!”


Congolese rumba, Ghanaian highlife, American funk, afrobeat, soul, jazz… How did you manage to learn all those music genres in 1950s and 1960s’ Benin?

We’re all self-taught musicians, and we learned by listening to the others, trying to perform their songs the best we could. There was only one radio station in the ’50s and ’60s in our country – the state-owned radio [ORTB – Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin]. Listening to the radio was the only way to hear new music from the Western countries, especially during the week-end shows, “Disques demandés” (“Requested records”), when listeners would call the station to make dedications to their friends. Then the record industry grew and the first record shops opened – we called them “discotheques”. Through some of our friends who were coming from elite families and had enough money to buy records, we could listen to the albums, at last! This way, when our regular audience asked us to perform a song they heard on the radio, we would get the vinyl record, learn the arrangements, and we’d perform it the next week! This is the reason why they called us “The Almighty” Orchestre Poly-Rythmo: we were able to play any song! We learned on the streets, as the great Manu Dibango put it once.

Can you tell us more about this encounter with Manu Dibango?

The Poly-Rythmo was chosen as the backing band for Manu Dibango when he came to play in Cotonou around 1974. At this time, a promoter would better hire us if he wanted to have people come and see the show! A member of Manu Dibango’s crew brought us the music scores for the songs we were supposed to play. We did not even look at them – we could not read a music score! – and we went straight to the discothèque to listen to the album. The day of the show, Manu came to meet us at the venue – a bar – and he asked us to follow the scores. We confessed to him that we had not even read them, but that we were ready to play. Still, he was very upset… He gave the signal for the start, and we played the whole set without any single mistake. He was totally stunned! He put his sax down, looked at us and said: “well, you’ve been to the best school… the school of the streets.”

Orchestre Poly-Rythmo is touring Europe in November:
15 nov. – Strasbourg (FR) – Espace Django Reinhardt
16 nov. – Tourcoing (FR) – Le Grand Mix
17 nov. – Brétigny-Sur-Orge (FR) – Le Rack’am
18 nov. – Auxerre (FR) – Le Silex
19 nov. – Lausanne (CH) – Les Docks
20 nov. – Amsterdam (NL) – Paradiso
23 nov. – Marseille (FR) – Espace Julien
24 nov. – Bordeaux / Cenon (FR) – Le Rocher De Palmer
25 nov. – Gennevilliers (FR) – Festival Africolor, Le Tamanoir
28 nov. – Diskmude (BEL) – 4AD

img_2734

Related stories:

L’Orchestre Poly-Rythmo : de l’école de la rue au groove universel

© Youri Lenquette
© Youri Lenquette

« Nous avons fait l’école de la rue »

Rencontre avec Vincent Ahehehinnou, chanteur historique de l’Orchestre Poly-Rythmo, fondé à Cotonou, au Bénin.

Orchestre vétéran et ultra-prolifique du continent africain depuis 50 ans, le « Tout Puissant » Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou fondé au Bénin vient de sortir Madjafalao, un nouvel album qui s’ajoute aux 500 disques déjà enregistrés, et a pris la route pour offrir son groove multiple au public des scènes d’Europe. Un mardi soir de novembre, dans le froid parisien, le groupe de Cotonou était l’invité surprise de la Tropical Discoteq organisée dans un restaurant branché des Buttes Chaumont. Installé en plein milieu du public, sans scène et sans effets de lumière, mais avec un son parfait et un groove irrésistible, le Poly-Rythmo a provoqué l’enthousiasme des spectateurs. Nous avons pu discuter avec Vincent Ahehehinnou – qu’on entend notamment sur le hit « Ou c’est lui ou c’est moi » (1973) – quelques minutes avant le concert.


« NOUS-MÊMES N’AVONS PAS NOS PROPRES DISQUES ! ON LES TROUVE SUR INTERNET À DES PRIX EXORBITANTS : 500€, 800€… […] IL FAUT SAVOIR QU’À L’ÉPOQUE, LES DISQUES ETAIENT PRESSÉS AU NIGERIA, ET ILS SE DÉFORMAIENT SOUS L’EFFET DE LA CHALEUR. »


PAM : Vous avez sorti plus de 500 disques, est-ce que vous en possédez une copie de chaque ? Est-ce qu’on peut encore trouver des pressages originaux ?

Vincent Ahehehinnou : Nous-mêmes n’avons pas nos propres disques ! On les trouve sur internet à des prix exorbitants : 500€, 800€… Les disques du Poly-Rythmo alimentent le fonds de commerce des disquaires aujourd’hui, et ça me fait plaisir ! Si on peut apporter du bonheur à ceux qui ont fait des efforts pour retrouver nos disques, c’est tant mieux. Il faut savoir qu’à l’époque, les disques étaient pressés au Nigeria, et ils se déformaient sous l’effet de la chaleur. Ce qui reste aujourd’hui, ce sont donc les disques pressés en France, en Angleterre, qui étaient plus solides.

Le Poly-Rythmo tire son nom de sa capacité à jouer beaucoup de styles musicaux différents : comment pourrait-on définir le projet du groupe depuis ses débuts en 1966 ?

Nous aurons 50 ans de carrière en 2018, et nous avons toujours suivi la même voie, parfois tortueuse, c’est vrai. Imaginez que vous êtes sur une route, au bord de laquelle se trouvent un vendeur de fruits, un vendeur de chaussures, etc. Sur un même chemin, vous avez toutes ces possibilités. Et bien c’est la même chose pour la voie qu’a choisi le Poly-Rythmo : on y trouve tous ces genres musicaux.


« GRÂCE À CERTAINS AMIS DONT LES PARENTS FAISAIENT PARTIE DE L’ÉLITE ET AVAIENT LES MOYENS D’ACHETER DES DISQUES, ON POUVAIT ENFIN ÉCOUTER LES VINYLES ! ALORS QUAND NOTRE PUBLIC NOUS DEMANDAIT DE JOUER UNE CHANSON QUI VENAIT DE SORTIR, ON SE PROCURAIT LE DISQUE, ON APPRENAIT LES ARRANGEMENTS, ET ON L’INTERPRÉTAIT LA SEMAINE SUIVANTE. »


Rumba congolaise, highlife ghanéen, funk américain, afrobeat, soul, jazz… Comment avez-vous pu apprendre toutes ces musiques au Bénin dans les années 1950 et 1960 ?

Nous sommes tous des autodidactes, et nous avons appris la musique en écoutant les autres musiciens, et en essayant de les interpréter au mieux. Dans les années 50 et 60, il n’y avait qu’une seule radio au Bénin : la radio d’État [ORTB – Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin]. C’est sur ces ondes que toutes les nouveautés d’Occident étaient diffusées, notamment dans l’émission « Disques demandés » tous les samedis et dimanches, où les auditeurs appelaient pour dédicacer des disques à leurs amis. On passait donc le weekend l’oreille collée à la radio ! Puis l’industrie du disque s’est développée, et les premiers magasins de disques sont apparus (les « discothèques »). Grâce à certains amis dont les parents faisaient partie de l’élite et avaient les moyens d’acheter des disques, on pouvait enfin écouter les vinyles ! Alors quand notre public nous demandait de jouer une chanson qui venait de sortir, on se procurait le disque, on apprenait les arrangements, et on l’interprétait la semaine suivante. Et c’est pour ça qu’on nous a appelés le « Tout Puissant » Orchestre Poly-Rythmo. Parce qu’on savait jouer n’importe quelle chanson ! On a fait l’école de la rue, et c’est le grand Manu Dibango qui l’a dit.

Racontez-nous cette rencontre avec Manu Dibango…

Quand Manu Dibango est venu jouer à Cotonou, vers 1974, c’est le Poly-Rythmo qui l’a accompagné. Il faut dire qu’à cette époque, si un promoteur voulait faire venir du public, il fallait qu’on soit à l’affiche. On nous alors apporté les partitions des chansons. On ne les a même pas regardées puisqu’on ne savait pas les lire, et on est tout de suite allés écouter l’album à la discothèque pour apprendre les chansons. Le jour du concert, Manu arrive au bar dansant, et nous demande de sortir les partitions. On lui répond qu’on ne les a pas lues, mais qu’on est quand même prêts. Je peux vous dire qu’il n’était pas content… Il nous fait signe de commencer à jouer, et on lui sort tout le répertoire à la perfection. Stupéfait, il pose son saxo, nous regarde et dit : « la bonne école, c’est l’école de la rue. »

L’Orchestre Poly-Rythmo est en tournée en novembre :
15 nov. – Strasbourg (FR) – Espace Django Reinhardt
16 nov. – Tourcoing (FR) – Le Grand Mix
17 nov. – Brétigny-Sur-Orge (FR) – Le Rack’am
18 nov. – Auxerre (FR) – Le Silex
19 nov. – Lausanne (CH) – Les Docks
20 nov. – Amsterdam (NL) – Paradiso
23 nov. – Marseille (FR) – Espace Julien
24 nov. – Bordeaux / Cenon (FR) – Le Rocher De Palmer
25 nov. – Gennevilliers (FR) – Festival Africolor, Le Tamanoir
28 nov. – Diskmude (BEL) – 4AD

img_2734