Kirani Ayat teams up with Sarkodie for “Mariama”

Kirani Ayat

The singer, rapper and producer from Madina (Accra) reveals this new title to promote his latest EP Her Vibe Is Right; the track was supposed to be released as a preview during a listening party of the same project at the Rehab Beach Club in Accra on August 23.

This new project marks the transformation of an artist who, in his early days, was much more oriented towards rap and hip-hop. Indeed, it was only in 2015 that Kirani Ayat abandoned his alias Billy Banger to use his real name Ayat, “life” in Arabic. The Ghanaian musician said at the time that it was not a simple change of name but “a transition, […] a self-realization”. Billy Banger was a phase and this phase taught me a lot”. Nevertheless, rap was not neglected on Mariama; although the track sounds more like afro-pop, it features the Sarkodie “Rap King” and KaySo in the beatmaking.

His new project, released on his own label Ayat Music Group, is rich in new influences. Indeed, it is much more focused on afrobeats and hiplife sonorities. However, the music remains resolutely Ghanaian: the EP features many local artists (Joeboy, Efya, Camidoh…). Her Vibe Is Right is Kirani Ayat’s third project after Zamani EP released in January 2019 and Traplife 2.0 released in 2015.

Her Vibe Is Right, out August 23rd on Ayat Music Group.

Kirani Ayat sort “Mariama” en duo avec Sarkodie

Kirani Ayat

Le chanteur, rappeur et producteur du quartier de Madina dévoile « Mariama » issu de son dernier EP Her Vibe Is Right ; le titre était censé sortir en avant-première lors d’une « Listening party » du même projet au Rehab Beach Club d’Accra le 23 août.

Ce nouveau projet marque la transformation d’un artiste qui, à ses débuts, était orienté vers des sonorités beaucoup plus rap et hip-hop. En effet, c’est seulement en 2015 que Kirani Ayat délaisse son premier pseudonyme Billy Banger pour reprendre son vrai nom, Ayat, « vie » en langue arabe. Le musicien ghanéen disait déjà à l’époque que ce n’était pas un simple changement de nom mais « une transition, […] une autoréalisation ». Billy Banger fut une phase et cette phase m’a beaucoup appris ». Le rap n’est pourtant pas délaissé sur « Mariama » ; bien que le morceau sonne plus comme de l’afro-pop, le « Rap King » Sarkodie est en featuring et KaySo est à la production.




Son nouveau projet, produit sur son propre label Ayat Music Group, est riche de nouvelles influences, beaucoup plus porté vers l’afrobeats et le hiplife. La musique reste pourtant résolument ghanéenne, l’EP rassemblant de nombreux artistes du pays (Joeboy, Efya, Camidoh…). Her Vibe Is Right est le troisième projet de Kirani Ayat après Zamani EP sorti en janvier 2019 et Traplife 2.0 sorti en 2015.

Her Vibe Is Right, sortie le 23 août via Ayat Music Group.