Watch Kendrick Lamar’s New “DNA.” video

Another powerful video for Kendrick.

After the striking HUMBLE. video, Kendrick Lamar shares the second movie video extract from DAMN., his fourth album released last week. Directed by Nabil Elderkin, american artist who already worked with Kanye West, Frank Ocean or Vince Staples. And like every two last years Kendrick’s movie videos, the name The Little Homies is mentionned on the Directors credit line. It’s the duo of directors formed by Kendrick himself and his childhood friend and manager Dave Free. Both of them have worked on Kendrick’s most beautiful videos, including the classy Alright.

In the “DNA” video, we can find Kendrick interrogated by actor Don Cheadle (House of Lies, Ocean’s Eleven). The end of the video takes part in the street, with Schoolboy Q (member of Black Hippy with Kendrick, Ab-Soul and Jay-Rock) charging at the movie camera while a previously unheard outro is playing.

“I got, I got, I got, I got, Loyalty, got royalty inside my DNA” Kendrick explains that is DNA is full of royalty—this song speaks about being a proud and black individual. On “i”, from 2015’s To Pimp a Butterfly, Kendrick addresses his black royalty:

N-E-G-U-S definition: royalty; King royalty
N-E-G-U-S description: Black emperor, King, ruler, now let me finish
N-E-G-U-S, say it with me

Kendrick Lamar sort le clip de « DNA. »

Encore un clip puissant et soigné pour Kendrick.

Après la vidéo hallucinante d’HUMBLE., Kendrick Lamar nous régale à nouveau avec le deuxième clip extrait de DAMN., son quatrième album sorti la semaine dernière. Réalisé par Nabil Elderkin, artiste américain ayant déjà travaillé avec Kanye West, Frank Ocean ou Vince Staples. Et comme pour tous les clips de Kendrick de ces deux dernières années, le nom The Little Homies figure toujours sur la ligne Réalisateurs des crédits. Il s’agit du duo de réalisateurs formé par Kendrick lui-même et son ami d’enfance et manager Dave Free. Les deux compères sont responsables des plus beaux clips de Kendrick, dont le classieux Alright.

Dans la vidéo de « DNA. », on retrouve un Kendrick menotté et interrogé par l’acteur Don Cheadle (House of Lies, Ocean’s Eleven). Les deux se donne la réplique en suivant celle du texte du morceau. La fin de clip se passe quant à elle dans la rue, avec un Schoolboy Q (membre des Black Hippy avec Kendrick, Ab-Soul et Jay Rock) qui charge la caméra sur un fond sonore jamais entendu auparavant. Le clip bénéficie en effet d’une toute nouvelle outro qui n’était pas disponible sur l’album.

« I got, I got, I got, I got, Loyalty, got royalty inside my DNA » Kendrick explique que « loyauté » et « royauté » caractérise son ADN : la loyauté envers ses proches en tant que valeur transmise par sa mère et la royauté, un des principes de l’Afrocentrisme. On pouvait déjà retrouver un clin d’oeil à la royauté sur son morceau « i » :

N-E-G-U-S definition: royalty; King royalty
N-E-G-U-S description: Black emperor, King, ruler, now let me finish
N-E-G-U-S, say it with me