Ibibio Sound Machine comes back with a darker and edgier quality album

Ibibio Sound Machine releases Uyai on Merge Records.

Here is the Ibibio Sound Machine‘s explosive cocktail : some funk and highlife from the golden era of West African, some disco, some modern post-punk and a big dollop of electronic music. All lead by the frontwoman London-born Nigerian singer Eno Williams.

The album title Uyai means “beauty” in Ibibio language. It is the language of the Ibibio, a people from southeast Nigeria, but also from Ghana, Cameroun and Equatorial Guinea. “It is a continuation of Ibibio Sound Machine’s story in which the worlds of West African highlife and electronic London collide via the storytelling lyrical thread of frontwoman Eno Williams’ vocals in the Ibibio language of Nigeria.”

Ibibio Sound Machine explains  “there is darker, edgier quality to the sound that maybe reflects the difficult journey the band took from making the first album to completing the second one. The songs are based more around themes of empowerment, freedom, and the liberation of dance for women, and people in general.”

LISTEN TO THE ALBUM AND FOLLOW OUR PLAYLIST “ALBUM OF THE WEEK” ON SPOTIFY & DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

Related stories:

Ibibio Sound Machine revient avec un second album plus sombre et audacieux

Ibibio Sound Machine sort Uyai sur Merge Records.

Voici le cocktail explosif d’Ibibio Sound Machine : du funk et du highlife directement inspirés de l’âge d’or de l’Afrique de l’ouest, du modern post-punk, du disco et une bonne dose d’electro. Eno Williams, la chanteuse nigériane née à Londres, porte ce projet avec succès depuis maintenant deux albums.

Uyai, le titre de l’album, veut dire « beauté » en Ibibio. Il s’agit de la langue du peuple du même nom vivant principalement dans le sud-est du Nigeria, mais également au Ghana, au Cameroun et en Guinée équatoriale. C’est dans cette langue que l’album continue le récit d’Ibibio Sound Machine, dans lequel se heurtent deux mondes : celui du highlife ouest-africain et celui de l’electro londonien.

Ibibio Sound Machine explique qu’il « y a une démarche plus audacieuse et plus sombre de notre part en matière de son, qui reflète peut-être les difficultés que nous avons rencontrées entre le premier album et ce deuxième effort. Les chansons sont davantage orientées vers les thèmes de l’émancipation et des libertés des femmes, des peuples, autour de et à travers la danse ».

ÉCOUTEZ L’ALBUM ET ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE PLAYLIST « ALBUM OF THE WEEK » SUR SPOTIFY ET DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

Related stories: