Soundway highlights South Africa’s 80s Bubblegum and Synth Boogie

With the Gumba Fire compilation, Soundway Records puts the light on the funky pop music scene of South Africa’s 1980s, widely known as bubblegum.

Picture: Black Five 

Bubblegum music was born in 1980s black South Africa, from the ashes of disco. It was a “usually stripped-down and lo-fi with a predominance of synths, keyboards and drum-machines and overlaid with the kind of deeply soulful trademark vocals and harmonies that South African music is famous for,” shares Soundway.

Gumba Fire: Bubblegum Soul & Synth Boogie In 1980s South Africa‘s highlight the country’s musical movements between “the ’70s where American-influenced jazz, funk and soul mixed with local Mbaqanga sounds, and the ’90s when kwaito and house music ruled the dance floors of urban South Africa.” 

The name gumba fire means ‘a hot party’, and comes from the phrase ‘gumba gumba’, a term for the old spacegram radios that broadcast music into South Africa’s townships and villages.

Listen to first single The Survivals’ ‘My Brother’ in our Afro Groove Party! playlist on Spotify or below:

Gumba Fire:Bubblegum Soul & Synth Boogie In 1980s South Africa is compiled by Miles Cleret (Soundway) and DJ Okapi (Afrosynth Records) and will be out on 9 March 2018 (vinyl, CD and digital). You can listen to the excerpts here.

Bubblegum et boogie : le son de l’Afrique du Sud des années 80

Avec sa compilation Gumba Fire, Soundway Records met à l’honneur la scène pop et funky de l’Afrique du Sud des années 80, plus connu sous le nom de bubblegum.

Photo: Black Five 

La bubblegum music est né en Afrique du Sud dans les 1980, à partir des cendres du disco. Particulièrement dépouillés et lo-fi, les morceaux était composés à partir synthés et boites à rythmes qui venaient contraster avec les vocal soul si propres à la musique sud africaine.

La compilation Gumba Fire: Bubblegum Soul & Synth Boogie In 1980s South Africa redonne vie à un mouvement musical qui se situait entre les années 70 – période où le jazz, le funk et la soul était roi – et celle des années 90 – où la house musique s’est imposée sur tous les dancefloors du pays.

Le nom ‘gumba fire’ est synonyme de ‘fête torride’ et fait allusion à ‘gumba gumba’, terme désignant les DJs des radios qui diffusaient la musique dans les townships et villages.

Écoutez le premier single, ‘My Brother’ de The Survivals, dans notre playlist Afro Groove Party! sur Spotify, ou ci-dessous :

Gumba Fire:Bubblegum Soul & Synth Boogie In 1980s South Africa est compilé par Miles Cleret (Soundway) et DJ Okapi (Afrosynth Records). Sortie prévu pour le 9 mars (vinyle, CD et digital). Écoutez les extraits ici.