Ghanaian duo Fokn Bois drops ‘True Friends’ featuring Mr Eazi

Their album Afrobeats LOL will be out on February 22nd.

The duo made up of M3nsa and Wanlov The Kubolor is known for its tasteful shock lyrics, noteworthy performance art and progressive hiplife. Their unconventional humor has brougth them controverses, as well as radio and television boycotts, until their internet fame became big enough not to be ignored anymore. They like to disturb, as shown in their name, ‘Fokn Bois’ being an old slang for ‘little rascals’.


For this new track the two artists collaborated with nigerian singer and banku music pioneer Mr Eazi. “True Friends” is a tribute to their fans, who they say are their true friends for supporting their music financially or by sharing it.

The upcoming album includes features from Mr. Eazi, Medikal, Sister Deborah, Dex Kwasi and Gyedu Blay Ambolley.  Its name, Afrobeats LOL, is a satire of people who use this genre to define all African music.

Afrobeats LOL  will be out on February 22nd. Pre-order it here.

Listen to Fokn Bois in our Afrobeats playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Read next: Falz released Fela sampled album, Moral Instruction

Le duo ghanéen Fokn Bois collabore avec Mr Eazi sur ‘True Friends’

Leur album Afrobeats LOL est prévu pour le 22 février prochain.

Le duo, composé des rappeurs M3nsa et Wanlov The Kubolor, est aussi bien connu pour son hiplife progressif, décalé et ses performances sur scène que pour ses paroles satyriques et incisives. Leur humour peu consensuel leur a valu un bon nombre de controverses et de boycotts de la part des radios et des télévisions, avant que leur reconnaissance montante sur internet n’oblige ces dernières à les reconnaître. ‘Fokn Bois’ signifie d’ailleurs vaurien dans le langage des anciens, désigne ceux qui dérangent, chose qu’ils se plaisent visiblement à faire.


Pour ce nouveau morceau, les deux artistes s’associent au chanteur nigérian et pionnier de la banku music Mr Eazi. Le titre « True Friends » rend hommage à leurs fans qui, selon eux, sont leurs vrais amis car ils supportent leur musique en la partageant ou en l’achetant.

L’album Afrobeats LOL est d’ailleurs porteur d’une pointe d’ironie envers ceux qui ont tendance à regrouper toutes les musiques africaines dans ce genre. Le projet comptera sur la participation de Sister Deborah, Dex Kwasi et de Gyedu Blay Ambolley.

Afrobeats LOL  sera disponible le 22 février prochain. Précommandez-le dès maintenant.

Retrouvez Fokn Bois dans notre playlist Afrobeats sur Spotify et Deezer.

Lire ensuite : Fuse ODG tente de reconnecter l’Afrique à ses diasporas