Label focus: NØ FØRMAT!

logo-no-format-rogne

 

A few months after the Parisian Théâtre du Châtelet hosted the Nø Førmat festival, PAM looks into the history of the French label, that has produced so many musical gems until now. The African continent has long been honored on the roster, since the beginning of this uncategorizable project. Throwback to the label’s origins, through the voice of his founder, Laurent Bizot.

The label, founded in 2004, quietly imposed its style one would describe as soft and quiet, but with the same and patient ambition: promote and defend genre-defying and free projects… obviously labelled “Nø Førmat”.


Listen to our special playlist Nø Førmat!

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green   Deezer   Youtube


As a legal expert for Universal Jazz, Laurent Bizot could witness how the marketing tool was everyday more integrated into the music label’s strategy, and how it impacted the creation process in itself : there would be no room for risks because the aim was to sell records. How ? By formatting the music. But everyone knows that this can kill music. This is when he started to think about setting a tiny label inside Universal, with little budget but a great artistic freedom. He then launches his first projects, but the restructuring in the company forced him to leave and set up Nø Førmat as an independent label, still distributed by Universal.

Birth of a label

The label came to life in 2004, and was made of three babies: three unclassifiable albums, amongst them an amazing musical party that gathered Cameroonian Richard Bona, Congoese Lokua Kanza and French Gérald Toto.

toto“Toto Bonua Lokua”: the trio’s name sounds great, and not only for the title of the album. The record was recorded in three days at Studio Kalm, a room full of instruments, that looked more like a children playground where a bunch of malicious kids had locked themselves in. Their complicity was at the center of this record, both playful and beautiful, where three voices were offering each their version of sweetness.

“I loved Bobby McFerrin’s Circle Songs“, tells Laurent Bizot, an album where a capella vocals come on top on each others as layers… It was the reference for the album Toto Bonua Lokua, but the idea was to do a capella stuff, with no pre-composed songs, something pretty much improvised… a recreation.”

A recreation that is too rarely heard (you should listen to the amazingly wild hidden track that ends the records after Lisanga) ! There was no leader in the trio, but three musicians who were also singers, composers and video directors, and who brought their own melodies and made them alive through each other’s talent. And, in this very case, with Africa as a common focus (Gérald Toto is fond of West Indies culture).


“There was the idea of ‘creolization’, of working on the relationship between who different things. What happens when you rub them against each other? What chemical reaction do you get from it?”


No Format married Africa for the first records, and has never left the continent aside.

As heard on Toto Lokua Bona (a first try and already a masterpiece), the spirit of the encounter and the meeting will then remain the signature style of Nø Førmat. “There was this idea of ‘creolization’, of working on the relationship between who different things. What happens when you rub them against each other? What chemical reaction do you get from it?”, explains Laurent Bizot, who took on the experimental side of this adventure (to which Thibault Müllings has been contributing since 2007).

Musical UFOs

noformataIf you’re curious about chemistry and alchemy, hear Senegalese singer Julia Sarr seducing Patrice Larose’s flamenco guitar and discussing with Youssou N’dour (on Set Luna Djamonodji). Hear also Malian singer Mamani Keita painting vocal colours on the walls built by the amazing Nicolas Repac on guitars (on Djama Nyemao). Not to forget the balafon-vibraphone duet by Lanciné Kouyaté et David Neerman (on Djanfa Magni, from their first album “Kangaba”).

Not to mention rapper Rocé or Canadian singer Mélissa Lavaux – of Haitian origin – whose dark lyrics sung in English, French or Creole beautifully blossom in her mysterious voice.

In short, Nø Førmat has delivered unique works, and always preferred working on uncommon projects rather that releasing several albums with the same artists, as most labels do. Twelve years after, you’ve got a collection of about 30 records, whose common point is their uniqueness. And their artwork has the same visual signature conceived by Jérôme Witz.

Under the influence of Mali

Another encounter is worth being told, as it plays a very symbolic part of the label’s history. It also shows Laurent Bizot’s strong fondness for Africa, and specifically Mali. When at Universal Jazz, his boss and mentor Daniel Richard had told him about Sarala (1995), an amazing album that gathered jazzman Hank Jones with many other Malian music stars, directed by Cheikh Tidiane Seck. Then Bizot had worked closely with Salif Keita, at the time he eventually met a worldwide success with the album Moffou (2002). Mamani Keita,  an ex-Salif’s backing vocalist, would be the first Malian to record on Nø Førmat.

Less than a year later, griot and kora player Ballaké Sissoko approached cellist Vincent Ségal after a Bumcello concert. They started to play together during their off-time and on Sundays while having picnic with their children, mainly for fun, thus growing a true friendship and a rare common musical breath.

With no rush and no running against time, they’d eventually talk about setting up a show, after two years of informal musical conversation. It’s Corinne Serres, then booking agent for Label Bleu artists, who organized the debut concert, and had Bizot listen to audio recordings. Bamako would be chosen as the next venue, where the two now-friends wanted to record an album.

The producer travelled until there so he could attend the gig and aslo the recordings, which happened at Salik Keita’s studio Moffou. In the course of only three nights, they would record all the tracks of Chamber Music. Those three nights were enough time for Bizot to understand Ségal’s work process: live recording, with just the right balance between preparation and improvisation. Preparation: they play the song over and over until they’re ready. They don’t rehearse: they do play the songs. They also spend some time designing the tone and sound they want for the record. Improvisation: there is a huge room for spontaneity and surprise, that emerges from the permanent re-encounter of the two musicians. This beautifully intimist album would eventually be Nø Førmat’s biggest success, still unbeaten (100 000 records, half of them sold in France). The perfect anti-Hollywood production, with no ProTools and no big mouth.

Ségal would then use the same method to produce and record his friend Ballaké’s solo album, At Peace (reference NØF 21). And because music is made by and of human beings, Lansiné Kouyaté would join the duo with BAdjé Tounkara on ngoni and accompany Kassé Mady Diabaté’s voice. Ballaké had precedently invited him to the “Night of the griots”, a memorable concert organized by the Festival d’Île-de-France in september 2013.

Bizot loved Diabaté’s voice, and found it was not enough highlighted in his overproduced records, with too many instruments. In the summer of 2014, they recorded songs in a studio located in the French countryside. The idea was to recreate a courtyard where long-time friends would gather. One instruction, though: not telling Kassé Mady when the microphone was opened, and let him sing spontaneously and naturally. This unique mood can be heard on the first notes of Sadjo, a traditional Malian song that tells the love between a young girl and an hippopotamus, that the malice of men would turn impossible.

noformat3

Kiriké is by far the most beautiful tribute to this voice, and to Mandinka music. “These melodies have survived since the 13th century because they bear a inner power. There is no need to revolutionize anything, but just to hear this music at its essential core.” This vision applies to most of the records Bizot has produced, many of them tend towards minimalism or essentialism (Ala.Ni, Blick Bassy or pianist Koki Nakano). Today, the producer admits he’s always been fascinated by real instrumentalists, often highlighted only in jazz or classical music records. Nø Førmat puts them back at their right place, and never forgets those who use their voice as an instrument (like Ala.Ni or Blick Bassy).

A participatory label?

This must explain why some people chose the original option the label offered its faithful followers : a one-year subscription. And the same spirit was seen during the label’s festival at Théâtre du Châtelet last October. Two nights where music would leave no room for formatting… thus letting the magic happen.

Photo : No Format / le jazzophone.com / Le Monde

Focus label : NØ FØRMAT!

logo-no-format-rogne

Alors qu’à Paris, le théâtre du Châtelet ouvre ses portes au festival No Format, PAM revient aujourd’hui sur l’histoire de ce label passé maître dans l’art de ciseler des bijoux musicaux. L’Afrique y a la part belle, puisqu’elle accompagne depuis ses débuts cette inclassable aventure. Petit coup d’œil dans le rétro, avec les lumières du fondateur du label : Laurent Bizot.

Tout doucement, sans faire de bruit – mais de la musique, le label fondé en 2004 par Laurent Bizot a installé sa patte. Une patte de velours, tant le travail abattu depuis douze ans se fait, sans esbroufe ni effet de manche, mais dans une patiente et constante ambition : défendre des projets inclassables et libres… des œuvres No Format.


Écoutez notre sélection spéciale Nø Førmat!

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green   Deezer   Youtube


Laurent Bizot, juriste chez Universal Jazz, avait bien vu comment le marketing, s’imposant chaque jour un peu plus dans la réflexion des maisons de disques, influait in fine sur la création elle-même. Il fallait mesurer les risques, être sûr de vendre, et donc… formater. Pourtant, on le sait : la magie ne se formate jamais, au risque de la tuer. Il imagine alors un label modeste au sein d’Universal, qui aurait de petits  budgets, mais une immense liberté. Il lance ses premiers projets, mais les restructurations dans la maison de disque le poussent à partir pour monter NØ Format comme un label indépendant (distribué par Universal).

Naissance d’un label

L’accouchement se fait en 2004, et ce sont des triplés : trois albums inclassables, dont une merveilleuse fête musicale où sont réunis le Camerounais Richard Bona, le Congolais Lokua Kanza et le Français Gerald Toto.

toto

Toto Bonua Lokua, le trio sonne bien, et pas seulement pour un nom de disque. A Paris, l’album fut enregistré en trois jours au studio Kalm, qui, avec ses murs tapissés d’instruments, avait des airs de salle de jeux dans laquelle une bande de gamins facétieux se serait enfermée. Leur complicité est d’ailleurs au centre de ce disque aussi ludique que magnifique, où se déploient trois voix filles de la Douceur.

« J’avais adoré le disque Circle Songs de Bobby Mc Ferrin, raconte Laurent Bizot, un album où les voix a capella se superposent comme des nappes… c’était un peu la référence, mais l’idée c’était surtout de leur proposer un truc a cappella, pas de chansons trop écrites, quelque chose de très improvisé, bref … une récréation. »

Une récréation comme on aimerait en entendre plus souvent (écoutez ici, à la suite du titre Lisanga, la plage fantôme délirante qui concluait le disque)! Dans ce trio, pas de leader, mais trois musiciens à la fois chanteurs, compositeurs et réalisateurs, qui tour à tour apportent leurs mélodies et les animent grâce au talent des autres. Avec, dans le cas de ces trois là, l’Afrique pour dénominateur commun (Gérald Toto est pétri de culture antillaise).


« Il y a cette idée de créolisation, de travailler sur la relation entre deux choses différentes, sur leur frottement. Quand on les frotte, quelle réaction chimique ça produit ? »


L’Afrique, No Format l’a donc épousée dès ses premiers disques, et ne l’oubliera plus jamais.

Comme sur Toto Lokua Bona (coup d’essai et de maître à la fois), c’est bien cet esprit de rencontre qui va faire la marque de No Format. « Il y a cette idée de créolisation, de travailler sur la relation entre deux choses différentes, sur leur frottement. Quand on les frotte, quelle réaction chimique ça produit ? » explique Laurent Bizot, assumant le côté expérimental de cette aventure (à laquelle contribue depuis 2007 Thibault Müllings). 

Ovnis discographiques

noformataC’est ainsi qu’en matière de chimie et d’alchimie, la sénégalaise Julia Sarr flirte avec la guitare flamenco de Patrice Larose, et à l’occasion dialogue avec Youssou N’dour (écoutez ici Set Luna Djamonodji). Ou encore la Malienne Mamani Keita qui projette les couleurs de sa voix sur les murs peints par l’excellent Nicolas Repac (écoutez ici Djama Nyemao). Sans oublier le duo balafon-vibraphone que forment Lanciné Kouyaté et David Neerman (écoutez ici Djanfa magni, extrait de leur premier album Kangaba).

Et l’on pourrait aussi ajouter le rappeur Rocé, ou la canadienne Melissa Laveaux dont les textes sombres, en anglais, en français ou en créole (elle est originaire d’Haïti) s’épanouissent dans une voix drapée d’un voile mystérieux.

Bref, vous l’aurez compris, No Format produit des pièces uniques, et s’intéresse à faire naître des projets singuliers bien plus qu’à signer nécessairement plusieurs albums avec les mêmes artistes (ce qui est souvent l’usage). Au bout de douze ans, cela donne une collection de disques (une trentaine) patiemment accouchés, réunis par leur originalité. Le tout, servi par une identité graphique très personnelle mise au point par Jérôme Witz, dans laquelle se fondent les graphistes qui dessinent les pochettes.

Sous l’empire du Mali

Une autre de ces rencontres mérite d’être contée, tout aussi emblématique. Elle dit aussi tout l’attachement de Laurent Bizot et de No Format à l’Afrique, et singulièrement au Mali.
Chez Universal jazz, son patron et mentor Daniel Richard lui avait raconté l’aventure de Sarala, le fabuleux disque qui associait le jazzman Hank Jones à une pléïade d’étoiles de la musique malienne, sous la baguette de Cheikh Tidiane Seck (1995). Et puis bien sûr, Laurent avait travaillé très étroitement avec Salif Keita, à l’époque de sa résurrection internationale et de l’album Moffou (2002). Mamani Keita, qui fût autrefois une des choristes de Salif sera la première Malienne à enregistrer pour le label.

Moins d’un an plus tard, le griot-koraïste Ballaké Sissoko aborde le violoncelliste Vincent Ségal à la fin d’un concert de Bum Cello. Ils commencent à jouer ensemble à leurs heures perdues, les dimanches en organisant des pique-niques avec leurs enfants, bref, ils jouent pour le plaisir et développent une véritable amitié, et surtout, une respiration commune.

C’est donc sans se presser, sans rien forcer, qu’ils finiront par envisager un concert, après deux ans de conversation musicale quasi clandestine. Corinne Serres, qui fait alors tourner la plupart des artistes du label Bleu, organise cette première, et en fait écouter quelques extraits à Laurent Bizot. Le concert suivant est prévu à Bamako, où les deux compères comptent également enregistrer un disque. Le producteur saute dans un avion, et assiste au concert comme à l’enregistrement (qui se tient justement dans le studio Moffou de Salif Keita). En trois nuits, tous les titres de l’album Chamber Music sont mis en boîte. Le temps pour Laurent Bizot de comprendre la manière dont Vincent Ségal travaille en studio.  Les morceaux sont enregistrés en condition live, avec une subtile dose de préparation et d’impréparation. La préparation, c’est tout le travail de maturation des morceaux joués ensemble. Pas « répétés », mais joués. C’est aussi la réflexion sur la couleur et le son que devrait avoir leur disque : fidèle aux deux musiciens, et surtout, fidèle … à la musique. L’impréparation, c’est la place laissée à l’instant, à la surprise, à la magie de la redécouverte permanente l’un de l’autre. Le disque, majestueusement intimiste, signera le plus beau succès de No Format – à ce jour inégalé (100.000 disques vendus, dont la moitié en France). Une anti-production hollywoodienne, sans Pro Tools ni trompettes.

Avec cette manière d’aborder les enregistrements, Vincent Ségal réalisera l’album solo de son ami Ballaké (At Peace, NØF 21). Et puis, les histoires de label accouchant aussi d’histoires de famille, Lansiné Kouyaté rejoindra le duo pour accompagner, avec Badjé Tounkara au ngoni, le chant du doyen Kassé Mady Diabaté. Ballaké l’avait invité à la nuit des griots, mémorable concert organisé par le festival d’Ile de France en septembre 2013.

Laurent Bizot aimait la voix de Diabaté, d’après lui pas assez mise en valeur dans des disques très produits, où la débauche d’instruments avait tendance à en faire oublier le grain si particulier. Ils enregistrent donc à l’été 2014, dans un studio situé en pleine campagne charentaise. L’idée : reconstituer l’ambiance d’une cour commune où de vieux amis seraient réunis. Le mot d’ordre : éviter même de dire à Kassé Mady que l’enregistrement a commencé, et le laisser chanter avec toute sa spontanéité et son naturel. On entend d’ailleurs des traces de cette ambiance dans le début de Sadjo, classique malien qui raconte les amours d’une jeune fille et d’un hippopotame, que la méchanceté des hommes rend impossible (écoutez ici Sadjo).

noformat3Kiriké est sans aucun doute un des plus beaux hommages à cette voix, et à la grande musique mandingue. « Si ces mélodies ont survécu depuis le 13ème siècle, c’est qu’il y a en elles une puissance intrinsèque. On n’a pas forcément besoin de réinventer la poudre, mais au contraire de les entendre dans leur plus simple appareil ». Ce « plus simple appareil » dont parle Laurent Bizot, il vaut pour bon nombre des disques qu’il a produits, dont beaucoup tendent vers des formes épurées (Ala.Ni, Blick Bassy ou le pianiste Koki Nakano l’illustrent chacun à leur manière). Avec le recul, Le producteur confesse sa fascination pour les instrumentistes, souvent mis à l’honneur dans les disques de jazz ou de classique, mais plus rarement ailleurs. No Format leur donne toute la place qu’ils méritent, sans oublier ceux qui ont la voix pour instrument (comme Ala.Ni ou Blick Bassy).

Un label participatif ?

Voilà pourquoi certains ont souscrit à la formule originale que propose le label : un abonnement à l’année pour tous ceux qui lui font confiance et qui, les yeux fermés, gardent les oreilles grandes ouvertes ! C’est aussi cet esprit que les artistes (dont la diva Oumou Sangaré) feront planer au dessus des spectateurs lors du festival qu’organise le label. Cette année, il se déroule au Théâtre du Châtelet. Vendredi 21 & 22 octobre prochains. Assurément, deux soirées où la musique ne se laissera pas formater… ni la magie enfermer.

Prochaines sorties 2017 : Oumou Sangaré, Toto Lokua Bona II (nouvelle récréation en perspective…)

Crédits photo : No Format / le jazzophone.com / Le Monde