Please welcome FLEE and their first release that focuses on Kenya’s benga music

Welcome! And we mean it! Those who launched FLEE are truly passionate for benga music. Their label / magazine / “cultural platform” is a great work that make us hear and listen to what used to be Kenya’s most popular music genre.

French version published for the the first time the October 10th 2017.

This sound arose during the 1960s in the Nyanza province, on the shores of Lake Victoria. It served as the soundtrack of the independence, a time for hope. Kisumu was the first main city for benga, quickly followed by River Road in Nairobi, a place that would turn that music highly popular until the beginning of the ’80s.

Listen to our playlist Afro Groove Party! on Spotify and Deezer

FLEE tells the story of a genre and its heroes – like D.O. Misiani, main man of the Victoria Boys and Shirati Jazz. It also narrates their lightning rise in the ’60s until their decline in the ’80s, when president Daniel arap Moi started to rule the country. The masters of benga were left high and dry by unscrupulous producers, robbed by the pirates, and eventually ended up in misery, despite their immense talent. They also suffered with the contempt from the Kenyan elites, who considered the genre a music of countrymen newly moved in town, who transposed to the guitar the way they used to play the traditional Nyatiti harp. Was it a colonial complex? Or maybe the fear that this music would broaden its audience until it helps suppress regional and tribal frontiers – which would eventually happen.

D.O. Misiani dit le mwalimu (le professeur)
D.O. Misiani aka the mwalimu (the teacher)

Benga would then be sung in all the main languages of Kenya and, according to FLEE, would become the conveyor of a shared and popular musical identity. This result was the exact opposite of what the politicians had tried to do in the country: stir up the ethnic rivalries. The bloody elections of 2007 are still haunting people’s memories today, and the unprecedented cancelation of last August’s vote by the Supreme Court has maintained the country under pressure until the new elections of October 2017.

The idea behind FLEE is to introduce and document cultural movements, by contextualizing their origins and the circumstances that gave birth to them and, eventually, the social meaning and role they’ve had in the society that fed them.

What about benga music today? Is it still alive?

One thing for sure, benga’s heritage is not dead yet. FLEE decided to reissue three gemstones of the genre (A side) and their versions by contemporanean African and European musicians. The music comes with a fully detailed and illustrated 16-page booklet and illustrations, that offers the perspective of Kenyan journalists, experts (Ammanuel Mwenda) and writers (Ondiso Madete), as well as North-American musicologist Douglas Peterson, a long-time passionate for benga.

The idea behind FLEE is to introduce and document cultural movements – especially musical – by contextualizing their origins and the circumstances that gave birth to them and, eventually, the social meaning and role they’ve had in the society that fed them.

All this great work has been done far from the ephemeral trends fueled by Western producers and labels, far from the diggers’ frenetic excitation, and far from the way-too-strict categories of musicologists. To put it in a nutshell: FLEE aims to make these musics known and appreciated.

One can be moved by a masterpiece, but when you know the details of the artist’s life and career, you can reach another level of comprehension of the artwork’s context and era.

This is exactly what FLEE has been starting to do. So be sure to follow them from now.

Benga Music (A Signature Genre From Kenya), October, 9th, 2017 via FLEE

A-side : Daniel Owino Misiani ; George Ramogi and the Migori Superstars
B-side : modern re-interpretations of the A-side themes by Jaakko Eino Kalevi, Africaine 808, Nik Weston and Rudy’s Midnight Machine.

Bienvenue à FLEE et à sa première parution consacrée au Benga du Kenya

Bienvenu, c’est le mot ! Les quelques mordus qui ont créé FLEE, à la fois un label, un magazine, une « plateforme d’ingénierie culturelle », signent un travail remarquable en braquant nos oreilles et nos regards sur un genre qui fut immensément populaire au Kenya, le benga.

Un son qui naît dans la province de Nyanza, sur les bords du lac Victoria, au cœur des années 60, accompagnant le souffle d’espoir de l’indépendance. Kisumu en sera la première capitale, avant que Nairobi et sa River Road n’en devienne le cœur battant, faisant briller le benga au firmament jusqu’au début des années 80.

  • Écoutez notre playlist Afro Groove Party! sur Spotify et Deezer

FLEE nous raconte l’histoire d’un genre et de ses héros (comme D.O. Misiani, pilier des Victoria Boys puis du Shirati Jazz), de leur ascension fulgurante à leur déclin dans les années 80, quand vint le règne de Daniel arap Moi. Laissés sur le carreau par des producteurs peu scrupuleux, privés de pitance par les pirates, s’enfonçant malgré leur talent dans la misère,  les chantres du Benga ont aussi souffert du souverain mépris des élites kényanes, qui y voyaient – et c’était bien son génie – une musique de ruraux fraîchement débarqués en ville, qui transposaient à la guitare la manière dont on pinçait la harpe traditionnelle nyatiti. Complexe colonial, ou peut-être parce que ce nouveau son allait élargir son public au point de dépasser les clivages régionaux et tribaux.

D.O. Misiani dit le mwalimu (le professeur)
D.O. Misiani dit le mwalimu (le professeur)

Le benga fut ainsi chanté dans toutes les prinicpales langues du Kenya, devenant selon FLEE le vecteur d’une identité musicale populaire et commune, soufflant dans le sens contraire des politiciens qui dans ce pays ont si bien su attiser les rivalités ethniques. Les sanglantes élections de 2007 continuent de hanter les mémoires, et l’inédite annulation du scrutin d’août dernier par la cour suprême, maintiennent le pays sous tension à l’approche du nouveau scrutin organisé à la fin du mois.


L’IDÉE DE FLEE, C’EST DE FAIRE DÉCOUVRIR ET DOCUMENTER DES MOUVEMENTS CULTURELS.


Et le Benga dans tout ça ? Est-il mort ?

Ce qui est sur, c’est que son héritage ne l’est pas. FLEE republie donc sur un vinyle trois petits bijoux d’époque (face A) et leur réinterprétation par des musiciens contemporains d’Afrique et d’Europe. Pour l’accompagner, seize pages fouillées et richement illustrées, où se croisent les éclairages de journalistes, spécialistes (Emmanuel Mwenda) et écrivains kényans (Ondiso Madete), sans oublier le regard d’un amoureux de longue date du benga : le musicologue américain Douglas Peterson.

L’idée de FLEE, c’est de faire découvrir et documenter des mouvements culturels – musicaux en particulier, en les éclairant sur leurs origines, les circonstances qui les ont vu se développer, et, finalement, le sens qu’ils ont eu dans la société qui les a portés.

Et tout ça, en tentant de se tenir à distance des modes qui agitent de manière éphémère producteurs et diffuseurs occidentaux, frénésie des diggers, ou catégories trop figées des musicologues. En termes plus clairs : faire connaître ces musiques pour les faire aimer, introduire à l’esthétique du benga pour la faire apprécier.

On peut être touché par un tableau de maître, mais il prend une toute autre dimension quand on connaît le peintre, son parcours, et ce que sa peinture nous dit de son temps.

C’est le formidable boulot que fait FLEE. À suivre, absolument.

Benga Music (A Signature Genre From Kenya), 9 octobre 2017 via FLEE

Face A : Daniel Owino Misiani, George Ramogi et les Migori Superstars,
Face B : les artistes de la face A revisités par Jaakko Eino Kalevi, Africaine 808, Nik Weston et Rudy’s Midnight Machine.