Cuban rapper El Tipo Este and French beatmaker Al Quetz made an album together

El Tipo Este y Al Quetz announce upcoming album La Revancha de la Manana. Listen exclusively to first single “Sin Protocolo”.

On this Caribbean island that is Cuba, El Tipo is a pioneer of Hip Hop. The founder of Obsesion group with he has committed three albums, traveled Europe, Latin America, United States. He has invested the mythical scene Apollo Theater of Harlem, shared the stage with The Roots, Common or Kanye West, integrated the Gilles Peterson’s band for the Havana Culture Tour.

In the world of beatmaking, Al Quets (originally known as Quetzal) is a figure. An instrumental designer who cut, loop, program, cadence, compose. A name marked by 5 albums and collaborations with Onra, Guts, La Fine Equipe ou Milk Coffee and Sugar.

Between the French beat maker and the cuban MC, there’s thousand of kilometers but a desire to connect so strongly that no force could have prevented the meeting.

So, rather than exchanging digital files , Al Quetz preferred swallowing on the same frequencies.

Together they drew on all the musical currents of the island and around, absorbed Afro-Cuban sounds, added the freedom of jazz, the metronome of hip hop grooves, smoking riddims and heavy bass of the Jamaican neighboor.

Then, Al Quetz invited musicians to bring a definitive touch. To come and join him in the studio to take full puffs of his productions and blow that gives La Revanche De La Manana the flavor of 70s recording. Trombone, piano, flute, guitare and bass has injected their inimitable sound, give to the beats and samples and other taste, hot, moist like hot wave day in La Havana.

A rhyme to improve, an arrangement to refine, an investment to adjust to the times : it’s with the spirit of a creative duo that Al Quetz and El Tips Este have designed and realized La Revancha de La Manana. A total immersion, to live together for one year, to think music and creation continuously, to wander in the city to breathe the air of creativity.

In the costume of a jazz singer or with the sounds systems MC tank top frowning or laughing tone, El Tipo Este has multiplied variations at the microphone rap, singing and spoken words. Like so many artists, voluble or precise, flexible or rigorous, but all able to inhabit each other of their turn these chronicles of local life, these snapshots of cuban streets, these social rhymes.

Theses tracks fanned by this impalpable sensation, difficult to define and untranslatable. This sacred fire is sometimes called mojo. This invisible force that crosses Cuban music with almost magic tunes. This feeling we don’t explain : La Manana

The label Heavenly Sweetness breaks the bottle of champagne on Pure Vida Sounds, his sub-division of which Guts (Paradise For All, Hip Hop After All, Eternal…) will ensure the artistic direction. Will unearth artists, release compilations, bring back to life unjustly forgotten albums, reissue records become rare because never repressed.

Read next: Chassol: having big fun putting the world to music

Le MC cubain El Tipo Este et le beatmaker français Al Quetz réunis sur un album

El Tipo Este y Al Quetz annoncent la sortie de leur album La Revancha de la  Manana. Découvrez en exclusivité le premier single, « Sin Protocolo ».

El Tipo Este vient de Cuba, là-bas il est un pionnier du hip hop. Il est le fondateur d’ Obsesion, groupe avec lequel il a commis trois albums, parcouru l’Europe, l’Amérique Latine et les Etats-Unis. Il a partagé l’affiche avec The Roots, Common ou même Kanye West, et tout récemment il a intégré le groupe de Gilles Peterson pour la tournée Havana Cultura.

Al Quetz est français lui (initialement connu sous les nom de Quetzal) et est une figure dans le monde du beatmaking. C’est un concepteur d’instrumentaux,  il découpe, met en boucle et programme des beats à la perfection. A son actif, cinq albums et des collaborations avec Onra, Guts, La Fine Equipe ou Milk Coffee and Sugar.

Entre le beatmaker français et le MC cubain, des milliers de kilomètres mais une envie de se connecter si puissante qu’aucune force n’aurait pu empêcher la rencontre.

Alors, plutôt que de s’échanger des fichiers numériques, Al Quetz a préféré avaler la distance, rejoindre El Tipo et se caler sur les mêmes fréquences.

Ensemble, ils ont puisé dans tous les courants musicaux de l’île et alentours, se sont imprégnés des sons afro-cubains, y ont ajouté la liberté du jazz, la métronomie des grooves  hip hop et les riddims fumants et lourds en basses du voisin jamaïcain.

Puis Al Quetz a invité des musiciens à apporter la touche définitive. A venir le rejoindre en studio pour prendre de pleines bouffées de ses productions et y souffler la fumée qui donne à La Revancha De La Manana la saveur des enregistrements 70’s. Trombone, piano, flûte, guitare et basse ont injecté leur son inimitable, donné aux beats et aux samples une autre saveur, chaude et moite comme une journée de canicule à La Havane.

Une rime à améliorer, un arrangement à affiner, un placement à ajuster sur le temps : c’est avec l’état d’esprit d’un binôme créatif qu’Al Quetz et El Tipo Este ont conçu et réalisé La Revancha De La Manana. Une immersion totale, à vivre ensemble durant un an, à penser musique et création en continu, à déambuler en ville pour humer l’air de la créativité.

Dans le costume d’un chanteur de jazz ou avec le débardeur d’ambianceur de sound-systems, les sourcils froncés ou le ton rieur, El Tipo Este a multiplié les variations au micro, entre rap, chant et spoken word. Comme autant d’artistes différents, volubiles ou précis, souples ou rigoureux, mais tous capables d’habiter chacun leur tour ces chroniques de la vie locale, ces instantanés des rues cubaines, ces comptines sociales.

Ces titres attisés par cette sensation impalpable, difficilement définissable et intraduisible. Ce feu sacré qu’on appelle parfois mojo. Cette force invisible qui traverse la musique Cubaine avec des airs de quasi magie. Ce feeling qu’on n’explique pas : la manana.

Avec La Revancha De La Manana, le label Heavenly Sweetness casse la bouteille de champagne sur Pura Vida Sounds, sa sous-division dont Guts (Paradise For All, Hip Hop After All, Eternal…) assurera la direction artistique. Dénichera des artistes, sortira des compilations, ramènera à la vie des albums injustement oubliés, rééditera des disques devenus rares car plus jamais repressés.

Lire ensuite : Heavenly Sweetness fête ses 10 ans : rencontre avec un de ses fondateurs