Young afro-house prodigy Dotorado Pro is back on Enchufada with Macumba EP

“Few producers have been able to cement their musical legacy before being legally allowed to drive.” Lisbon-based Dotorado Pro is among these few.

At roughly 16 years, the Angola-born released “African Scream”, a track that would shape the sound of Lisbon and propel him under the spotlights. It’s also the track that originated his first collaboration with BrankoEnchufada imprint, which strongly contributed to export the local kuduro and afro-house scene through the world.

The sound that Dotorado Pro, his crew Mambos Da Casa, and several others artists helped shaping is the sound of the African diaspora, mainly from Angola, that developed in the suburbs of Lisbon, blending African-inspired polyrhythms.

Four years after the release of African Scream, and following a handful of inspiring releases, Dotorado Pro is back on Enchufada with Macumba.

All five tracks from the release channel his distinctive sound, where frenetic polyrhythms echo the hypnotising marimba and synth loops, alluding to the ambivalent definition of the EP’s title. “Macumba” indeed stands for an African percussive instrument as well as for Afro-Brazilian religions combining ancient spiritual beliefs brought over by African slaves and native American religious practices.

Listen to Dotorado Pro in our Afro Club Exp. playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Macumba by Dotorado Pro, released on April 26th. Order it on Bandcamp.

Read Next: Bonaventure’s DIY electronic music blending against all forms of oppression

Le jeune prodige de l’afro-house lisboète Dotorado Pro revient sur Enchufada avec l’EP Macumba

Comme le relève Branko : « Peu de producteurs ont été capables de consolider leur héritage musical personnel avant même d’avoir l’âge de conduire ».

À seulement 16 ans, le producteur originaire d’Angola marquait les esprits avec le morceau «African Scream». C’est cette sortie qui le propulsera sur les devants de la scène, participera à définir le son de Lisbonne qui résonne jusqu’aujourd’hui aussi bien dans la rue, sur les enceintes des téléphones des jeunes portugais que sur les dancefloors du monde entier.

C’est également ce morceau qui est à l’origine de sa première collaboration avec Enchufada, le label de Branko, qui a participé aux côtés de collectifs comme Principe à exporter le kuduro et l’afro-house de la scène locale au dehors des frontières nationales.

Ce son que Dotorado Pro a participé à définir, c’est celui de la diaspora africaine, principalement angolaise, qui s’est développé dans les banlieues de la capitale européenne.

Quatre ans après la sortie de l’EP African Scream, et après une série de sorties tout aussi accrocheuses, Dotorado Pro est de retour sur Enchufada avec Macumba.

Les cinq titres sont imprégnés de son son caractéristique, où polyrythmies africaines répondent aux superpositions de boucles mélodiques, de synthétiseurs et marimbas. Les rythmes frénétiques rendent hommage à l’ambivalence du titre de l’EP, qui désigne à la fois une percussion africaine et les pratiques mystiques des religions afro-brésiliennes, dont les rituels comportent souvent des états de transe induits par des chants et percussions effrénés.

Retrouvez Dotorado Pro dans notre playlist Afro Club Exp. sur Spotify et Deezer.

Macumba de Dotorado Pro, sorti le 26 avril. Commandez-le sur Bandcamp.

Lire ensuite : De Londres à Lagos, le son d’Ekiti