Byron Biroli unveils elegant visuals for his electronica-highlife song ‘Find a Way’

Catch the noir wave.

London-based singer-songwriter Byron Biroli always blends perfectly his Ugandan roots with electronic and pop music. His new tune is inspired by a Zambian roadside skit about the ravages of HIV. In ‘Find a Way’ Biroli’s reverence for bush music is apparent, as he elevates sub-Saharan (Bantu) musical forms, juxtaposing electronica with hi-life and call and response harmonies.

Biroli emails us: “I’d like to dedicate ‘Find a Way’ to the people of Uganda and Bobi Wine, a Ugandan MP currently recovering from life threatening injuries dished out by Ugandan authorities. Maybe we can ‘Find a Way’ out of this that doesn’t involve violence.”

The visual, directed by Czech fashion photographer Kate Guić, is light-hearted as it enchants with dancing and a shot selection that references equatorial forests and savannah landscapes (interestingly, shot in Suffolk, England).

Read next: Chassol: having big fun putting the world to music

Découvrez ‘Find a Way’, le tube electro-highlife de Byron Biroli

Surfez sur la noir wave.

Basé à Londres, l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Byron Biroli a toujours su mélanger avec brio ses racines ougandaises avec la pop uk et la musique électronique. Sur son nouveau titre ‘Find a Way’, le chanteur puise son inspiration aussi bien dans la musique traditionnelle, dont le Bantu sub-saharien, que dans l’electronica ou le highlife.

Par email, Biroli nous précise qu’il « dédicace ce morceau aux peuples d’Ouganda et à Bobi Wine », un artiste et parlementaire ougandais qui vient de passé deux semaines en prison – où il aurait été torturé – avant de pouvoir aller se faire soigner aux Etats-Unis. Byron souhaite qu’on pourrait « trouver un moyen (Find a Way) de finir cette affaire sans violence ».

Réalisé par la photographe de mode tchèque Kate Guić, le clip est aussi léger qu’enchantant. Le décor rappelle la forêt équatorial et les paysages de la savane. Étonnant pour un clip tourné à Suffolk, un comté de l’Angleterre !

Lire ensuite : Un, deux, trois, Chassoleil : le monde comme partition musicale vivante