French Producer Blundetto Teams Up with Ken Boothe on First Track from Upcoming Album

Blundetto aka Max Guiguet have announced a new album. The follow-up to 2015’s World Of  is called Slow Dance. It arrives on May 25 via Heavenly Sweetness.

Max Guiguet was already interested in Jamaican music, but 20 years earlier, when he entered as an intern at Radio Nova (french radio) he discovered at the time an infinity of styles to go further into. For twenty years he will apply on exploring this genres.

At nightfall, after long days working at the radio, Max takes on the identity of Blundetto, a name that comes straight from a mafia series, a name who started to live in 2005, through long nocturnal sessions to experiment between sampling and instruments. Playing guitar, keyboard, drums, percussions or bass. Sampling, composing, arranging, polishing for four years until in 2009, his name resonates on the turntables.

Bad Bad Things will be his first release. An album composed and directed in duo with Black Joy, his Rick Rubin without whom nothing happens or rather, who makes everything end up well. Budos Band, Shawn Lee, Hindi Zarha and Tommy Guerrero are the invited guests who come and put part of their personality in the tracks influenced by reggae, nostalgic soul or soundtracks.The musical complicity continues and builds the Blundetto style : he comes back in 2012 with Warm My Soul. The aesthetics is less roots, machines are more present. The voices of Hugh Coltman, Aqeel and Courtney John, the brass of Akale Wube take their turn in the studio. Jamaica remains the anchor of an album that goes to Africa or to the low-riders boomin ‘systems of Los Angeles. The third round is played in 2015, still on the same basis and always with the decisive Blackjoy. No more jet-lag nor thousands of miles to cover, World Of will be recorded only with relatives: Etienne De La Sayette, Biga* Ranx or John Milk. A patchwork album, between funk, kabyle music, rock and, of course, reggae.

Based on this Kingston vibration, between roots and modernity, Blundetto new album Slow Dance arrives May 25 via Heavenly Sweetness. Above, listen to the LP’s first single “Have A Little Faith” featuring JamaIcan godfather Ken Boothe.

Blundetto collabore avec Ken Boothe sur le premier titre de son prochain album

Un titre élégant et aérien où se glisse la voix douce du parrain du reggae jamaïcain.

Slow Dance, le nouvel album de Blundetto est prévu pour le 25 Mai. Son premier titre ‘Have A Little Faith’ invite la voix magnifique de la légende jamaïcaine Ken Boothe.

Blundetto aka Max Guiguet était déjà bien calé en musique jamaïcaine lorsqu’il arrive à Radio Nova en tant que stagiaire, 20 ans plus tôt. Il y occupera le fauteuil de programmateur, celui qui sélectionne la musique qu’on écoute sur les ondes, où devant lui se trouvera une immensité de genres à découvrir, de styles à apprivoiser et à approfondir.  

À la nuit tombée, après de longues journées à la radio, Max Guiguet revêt l’identité de Blundetto, un nom venu tout droit d’une série mafieuse, un nom qui a commencé à prendre vie à partir de 2005 au fil des longues sessions nocturnes à expérimenter, à chercher entre sampling et instruments live.

Bad Bad Things (Heavenly Sweetness) sorti en 2010 sera son premier méfait. Un album pensé et réalisé en binôme avec Black Joy, où sont invités Budos Band, Shawn Lee, Hindi Zarha ou encore Tommy Guerrero sur une bande son qui oscille entre reggae, soul nostalgique ou bandes originales. Blundetto récidive en 2012 avec Warm My Soul (Heavenly Sweetness, encore). L’esthétique est moins roots, les boîtes à rythmes et les machines plus présentes mais le casting d’invités tout aussi prestigieux. On y entend les voix d’Hugh Coltman, d’Aqeel et de Courtney John, les cuivres d’Akalé Wubé. La Jamaïque reste le point d’ancrage d’un album qui part vers l’Afrique où s’en va tonner dans les boomin’ systems des low-riders de Los Angeles. Le troisième round se joue en 2015, toujours sur les mêmes bases et toujours avec le décisif Blackjoy. World Of (Heavenly Sweetness, toujours) ne se fera qu’avec des proches : Etienne De La Sayette, Biga*Ranx ou John Milk. Un album patchwork ou, plus que jamais, l’éclectisme y est de mise, entre funk, musique kabyle, rock et, bien évidemment, reggae. 

C’est appuyé sur cette vibration de Kingston, entre roots et moderne, que Blundetto revient avec Slow Dance,  son nouvel album. La sortie est prévue le 25 mai prochain sur Heavenly Sweetness, évidemment. En attendant, on vous invite à écouter, ci-dessus, ce premier titre magnifique en featuring avec Ken Boothe.

Lire ensuite : Heavenly Sweetness fête ses 10 ans : rencontre avec un de ses fondateurs