Black Future, the dark side of Rio (1988)

Back in 1988, when post-punk and no-wave already had their acme time in the US and Europe, some Brazilian musicians archly revelled in the genre, not without great provocation.

Rio de Janeiro-based Black Future (founded by Carlos Antônio de Mattos aka Tantão and Márcio Bandeira aka Satanésio) is the perfect illustration of how this mix of White punk and Black reggae and dub, turned itself a more complex cultural interbreeding when reclaimed by artists who grew up on the Latin culture of samba and carnaval, share the collective memory of a city (Rio de Janeiro) and neighborhood (Lapa), and intend to criticize the society they are living in : Brazil in the ‘80s. Their underground success track “Eu Sou O Rio” is representative of the counter-cultural era. Music digger Daniel Haaksman is no stranger to the band’s reappreciation when he featured the song in the essential compilation he published on his own label in 2005 (Não Wave – Brazilian Post Punk 1982-1988, Man Recordings).

The PiL/The Fall/Wire-influenced bass groove mixes with a traditional carioca rhythm played on a drum machine and accompanied by acoustic percussions : the result is a kind of “samba-noise”, as Brazilian music magazine Blitz put it when they reviewed the album.

Lyricist and singer Márcio “Satanésio” Bandeira depicts the side of Rio that the postcards never promote, and turn this song into an anti-anthem for tourists, or, better, an anthem for Rio’s outcasts and underdogs, what Black Future members proudly claim they are.

The lyrics, in Brazilian language, quote shady places like the Galeria Alaska, the most famous gay and drag queen club in the 70s; and the most scandalous figures of the city, especially in Lapa: Zé do Queijo (mafiosi godfather of the Cachopa district), Zé Kéti and Cartola (popular samba composers who sang about the daily miserable life in the favelas, the latter remained indigent until turning 60, despite his numerous hits), Joãosinho Trinta (stage designer for Rio carnaval, who once had planned to embody Jesus Christ as a beggar), Sérgio Mallandro (Brazilian stand-up comedian and trash TV icon), Madame Satã [Mrs Satan] (a legendary Black drag queen of the ‘30s, both gangster and artist, whose name was used to christen the cult punk club of São Paulo)…

Rio’s bad kids could not help but ironically wink at the “brizolão“, a State-funded boarding schools project for disadvantaged children set up by controversial leftist Governor Leonel Brizola, where the employees were asked to « be the social parents » to those kids. Some kind of an academic prison, if you carefully hear the way Black Future pronounce that word. They claimed the future would be black… but maybe the present was already black, in a way. and they seemed to enjoy it.

[author’s translation]
“I am Rio
I am Zé do Queijo
I am Zé Kéti
Joãosinho Trinta
I am Cartola
Sérgio Mallandro
[I am] this whole bunch
Of mavericks
Who run wild on Lapa
I am the Alaska
In these places
There are many gays
I am the sea and the threat
The Rio of the beaches, the Rio of soccer
The Rio of caipirinha and sun
The Rio of piss stinking favelas
The Rio, the Rio, the Rio with jammed streets
The Rio, the Rio of many tragedies
The Rio of Madame Satã (of Camisa Preta)
Apotheosis, Brizolão
The Rio of despair and evil
The Rio of the mediocrity
The Rio without dreams
Rio, Rio, Rio…
I am Rio.”

[original lyrics/ paroles originales – no copyright infringement intended]
“Eu sou o Rio
Sou Zé do Queijo
Eu sou Zé Kéti
Joãosinho Trinta
Sou Cartola
Sérgio Mallandro
De todo bando
De marginais
Que assolam a Lapa
Eu sou a Alaska
Nesses lugares
Têm muita bicha
Eu sou o mar e ameaça
O Rio da praia, o Rio do futebol
O Rio da caipirinha e do sol
O Rio das favelas que fedem o mijo
O Rio, o Rio, o Rio das ruas engarrafadas
O Rio, o Rio de muitas e muitas desgraças
O Rio do Madame Satã (do Camisa Preta)
Apoteose, Brizolão
O Rio do desespero e da maldade
O Rio da mediocridade
O Rio da falta de sonhos
O Rio, O Rio, o Rio…
Eu Sou o Rio”

Related stories:

Black Future, la face sombre de Rio (1988)

En 1988, alors que prend fin le post-punk et la no-wave aux USA et en Europe, la scène musicale du Brésil s’y vautre avec malice et provocation.

Le duo carioca Black Future (Carlos Antônio de Mattos aka Tantão et Márcio Bandeira aka Satanésio) illustre parfaitement comment ce courant musical Blanc issu du punk et métissé de reggae et dub Noir, s’est à nouveau transformé au contact de la culture Latine du samba et du carnaval, de la mémoire collective d’une ville (Rio de Janeiro), voire d’un quartier (Lapa), et de la critique sociale d’une société entière (le Brésil des années 80). Leur succès underground « Eu Sou O Rio » est emblématique d’une époque et d’un genre contre-culturels au Brésil. Le chercheur de sons Daniel Haaksman ne s’y est pas trompé, en l’intégrant à sa compilation essentielle de la scène post-punk du Brésil (Não Wave – Brazilian Post Punk 1982-1988, Man Recordings).

Pour la musique, une basse empruntée au triptyque PiL / The Fall / Wire y côtoie une rythmique traditionnelle de Rio de Janeiro jouée par une boîte à rythmes soutenue par des percussions : une sorte de « samba-noise », comme l’écrivait le magazine musical Blitz à la sortie de l’album.

Quant aux paroles, Márcio « Satanésio » Bandeira, chanteur du groupe, y décrit le Rio qu’on ne voit pas sur les cartes postales, et fait de cette chanson un anti-hymne touristique, ou plutôt un hymne du Rio des déclassés et des marginaux, dont les membres du groupe revendiquent faire partie, fièrement.

Il y évoque en brésilien les lieux interlopes de “son” Rio (la Galeria Alaska, club orienté gay et travesti le plus connu des années 70) et les figures les plus sulfureuses des quartiers populaires de la ville, notamment de Lapa : Zé do Queijo (figure mafieuse du quartier populaire de la Cachopa à Rio), Zé Kéti et Cartola (compositeurs de sambas populaires qui chantaient notamment le quotidien des favelas ; Cartola a vécu une vie misérable jusqu’à ses 60 ans malgré ses nombreux succès), Joãosinho Trinta (scénographe du carnaval de Rio très populaire qui a notamment voulu représenter le Christ Roi en mendiant), Sérgio Mallandro (humoriste de Rio, icône de la culture trash à la TV brésilienne), Madame Satã (João Francisco dos Santos, drag-queen mythique Noir des années 30, entre gangster et artiste, qui a donné son nom au club punk culte de São Paulo), Miguelzinho Camisa Preta (proxénète dandy célébré dans un samba classique)…

Un clin d’oeil ironique y est aussi fait au “brizolão”, un programme lancé par le gouvernement de gauche du sulfureux Leonel Brizola : des écoles publiques avec internat pour les enfants défavorisés, où les fonctionnaires devaient jouer le rôle de « parents sociaux ». Une forme de prison scolaire, si l’on écoute bien la façon dont le mot est prononcé par le chanteur des Black Future, pour qui le futur était noir… Mais le présent l’était peut-être déjà, en un sens. Et ça avait l’air de leur plaire.

[traduction libre des paroles par l’auteur de cet article]
« Je suis Rio,
Je suis Zé do Queijo
Je suis Zé Kéti
Joãosinho Trinta
Je suis Cartola
Sérgio Mallandro
[Je suis] de toute cette bande de marginaux
Qui sévissent à Lapa
Je suis l’Alaska
Dans ces lieux il y a beaucoup de pédés
Je suis la mer et la menace
Le Rio de la plage, le Rio du football
Le Rio de la caipirinha et du soleil
Je suis le Rio des favelas qui puent la pisse
Le Rio des rues embouteillées
Le Rio de beaucoup, beaucoup de malheurs
Le Rio de Madame Satã (de Chemise Noire)
Apothéose, Brizolão
Le Rio du désespoir et du mal
Le Rio de la médiocrité
Le Rio de l’absence de rêves
Rio, Rio, Rio…
Je suis Rio »

[original lyrics/ paroles originales – no copyright infringement intended]
« Eu sou o Rio
Sou Zé do Queijo
Eu sou Zé Kéti
Joãosinho Trinta
Sou Cartola
Sérgio Mallandro
De todo bando
De marginais
Que assolam a Lapa
Eu sou a Alaska
Nesses lugares
Têm muita bicha
Eu sou o mar e ameaça
O Rio da praia, o Rio do futebol
O Rio da caipirinha e do sol
O Rio das favelas que fedem o mijo
O Rio, o Rio, o Rio das ruas engarrafadas
O Rio, o Rio de muitas e muitas desgraças
O Rio do Madame Satã (do Camisa Preta)
Apoteose, Brizolão
O Rio do desespero e da maldade
O Rio da mediocridade
O Rio da falta de sonhos
O Rio, O Rio, o Rio…
Eu Sou o Rio »

Related stories: