5 albums you need to hear this week

A selection of our favorite albums and EPs released this week.

With Angel-Ho, Solange, Hamza, Zara McFarlane and Branko.


Angel-Ho
Death Becomes Her

As an already established DJ and producer, Angel-Ho began to tease the internet towards the end of 2018, revealing in succession three brilliant and surgically precise instrumentals. From there, she has elevated her music to a new level, bringing out her pop diva outfit, to release her debut album Death Becomes Her. She enters the fold of the rigorously curated Hyperdub camp, whilst also at the same time running her own label, NON Worldwide. Read our column about the album.

Stream it on Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


 

Solange
When I Get Home

Two years after the notable A seat at the Table, Solange Knowles is back with a new album. The new project, titled When I Get Home, was released at midnight during the night of the February 28th to March 1st. Right during the transition between the “Black History Month” and the “Women’s History Month”.

The album features several prestigious collaborations such as Dev Hynes, Sampha, Pharell and Tyler the Creator. Recorded in 2018 between Jamaica, New Orleans and California, it cleverly blends Jazz, Funk, Hip Hop and R’n’b.

Stream it on Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


 

Hamza
Paradise

After several mixtapes that confirmed him as one of the most inventive artists of his generation, the Belgian-born rapper with Morrocan and Comorian origins just released his first album, Paradise. Featuring SCH, Aya Nakamura, Oxmo Puccino and Christine and the Queens, the album reveals the artist’s versatility and eclecticism. Hamza signs most of the productions of the album with his partner in crime Ponko, making the instrumentals in total symbiosis with his ethereal flow. Special mention for the featuring with Aya Nakamura, a two-parts tracks where both singers flirt in rhythm.

Stream it on Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


 

Zara McFarlane with Dennis Bovell
East Of The River Nile

Since her 2011 debut, Until Tomorrow, also released on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings, Zara McFarlane has been considered a major talent on the British Jazz scene. Drawing from her Jamaican origins as well as from the deep spiritual jazz of Pharoah Sanders, she delivers four different reinterpretations of Augustus Pablo’s classic dub track. A convincing follow-up to her 2017 LP Arise, where her crystal-toned vocals guide the jazz drums and brasses, while Dennis Bovell dub effects space things out.

Stream it on Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


Branko
Nosso

Enchufada label founder releases Nosso, his second solo album. In line with his former project issued in 2015, Branko keeps on sharing his musical globe-trotter ambitions. In this new album, he blends rhythms from Angola and Portugal with other countries’ artists, blending several influences and styles in a singular way.

Stream it on Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.

Read Next: Angel-Ho: Sex, pop and fairy tales

Les 5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, on vous propose une sélection d’albums et EPs sortis sur les plateformes.

Avec Angel-Ho, Solange, Hamza, Zara McFarlane et Branko.


Angel-Ho
Death Becomes Her

Jusqu’à présent éprouvée en tant que DJ et productrice, Angel-Ho taquinait les internautes fin 2018 en dévoilant coup sur coup trois titres instrumentaux massifs composés au scalpel. Elle amène ici sa musique à un autre niveau, endossant instantanément le costume de la diva pop pour donner naissance à son tout premier album Death becomes her. Elle débarque par la même occasion en grande pompe sur l’exigeant label Hyperdub, laissant sa propre structure NON Worldwide entre parenthèses. Découvrez notre chronique de l’album.

Écouter sur Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


 

Solange
When I Get Home

Deux ans après l’acclamé A Seat at the Table, Solange Knowles est de retour avec un nouvel album. Intitulé When I Get Home, le nouveau projet de la chanteuse américaine est sorti à minuit, dans la nuit du 28 février au 1er mars. Une date loin d’être anodine, puisqu’il marque le passage du « Black History Month » au « Women’s History Month ».

L’album accueille de nombreuses collaborations prestigieuses comme Dev Hynes, Sampha, Pharrell ou encore Tyler the Creator. L’album, qui mélange avec brio du jazz, de la funk, du hip-hop et du r’n’b, a été enregistré en 2018 en Jamaïque, Nouvelle Orléans et en Californie.

Écouter sur Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


 

Hamza
Paradise

Après de nombreuses mixtapes qui l’ont placé comme un des artistes les plus inventifs de sa génération, le jeune rappeur belge d’origine marocaine et comorienne sort aujourd’hui son premier album, Paradise. Entouré de Sch, Aya Nakamura, Oxmo Puccino et Christine and the Queens, Hamza révèle sa polyvalence et son éclectisme. Les productions, dont il en signe une grande partie avec son compère belge Ponko, sont taillées à la perfection et en parfaite osmose avec le flow nuageux du chanteur. Mention spéciale pour l’originalité du featuring Aya Nakamura, morceau en deux parties sur lequel les deux artistes flirtent en rythme.

Écouter sur Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


Zara McFarlane with Dennis Bovell
East Of The River Nile

Depuis la sortie de son premier album Until Tomorrow, sorti en 2011 sur le label de Gilles Peterson, Zara McFarlane est reconnue comme un talent majeur de la scène britannique. Après le succès de son troisième album « Arise » – qui explore l’héritage musical jamaïcain – sorti en 2017, Zara sort un EP de 4 ré-interprétations du classique « East Of The River Nile » de la légende du dub Augustus Pablo. Zara ré-actualise subtilement l’original tout en gardant son essence. Sa voix suave, qui la caractérise si bien, accompagne la batterie jazz entraînante et les cuivres auxquels s’ajoutent les effets dubs de Dennis Bovell.

Écouter sur Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.


Branko
Nosso

Le fondateur du label Enchufada sort Nosso, son deuxième album solo. Dans la lignée du précédent sorti en 2015, Branko continue de partager ses ambitions de globe-trotteur musical. Cette fois-ci, en orientant ses instrumentaux vers l’univers des pays lusophones et de leurs rythmes, pour ensuite les mêler avec des artistes d’autres pays, aux styles totalement différents.

Écouter sur Spotify / Deezer / Apple Music.

Lire ensuite : Sous la lune, avec Mayra Andrade