6 albums you need to hear this week

In this week’s selection : Banga ritualism blends with Noise Rock in Ifriqiyya Electrique’s album, Lee Field reminds us to believe in love, UK Neo-Soul ambassador Ady Suleiman releases a mixtape and Ghanaian rapper KiddBlack teams up with Moorsound for an experimental-infused party anthem EP.

 

Ifriqiyya Electrique
Laylet El Booree

Ifriqiyya’s music was never composed for a Western audience in the first place, rather it is a contemporary and unexpected hybridation, that the band calls a “post-industrial ritual”. “Laylet el Booree” translates as the “Night of the Madness” and refers to the last part of the annual gathering of the ritual from the Banga of Tozeur, the night when the spirits actually take possession of the bodies. Formed by European post-punk musicians Gianna Greco and François R. Cambuzat as well as three members of the Banga community (localised in the Tunisian desert) – Tarek Sultan, Yahia Chouchen and Youssef Ghazala, the band delivers a blend of Banga ritualism and Noise Rock sounds in a powerful album.

Listen


Lee Fields & The Expressions
It Rains Love

It Rains Love is Lee Field’s fifth album with his band The Expressions. The godfather of New York’s Soul pays tribute to love – his favorite topic – in this new effort, and mainly to the love he has been sharing with his wife for the last 40 years. His powerful and unique voice vibrates on the almost erotic harmonies composing this new album. The songs exhale mastery and authenticity, while taking us through a romantic journey in 1970’s New York.

Listen:  Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 


Labelle
Orchestre Univers

For his third album, Labelle teams up with the National Orchestra of Reunion Island for a sonic odyssey across Post-Maloya and electronic experimentations. Inbetween past and present, trance and serenity, organic and electronic, Indian Ocean’s rhythms and Detroit Techno, Labelle deconstructs his influences in a singular way. In Orchestre univers, his third album recorded live with the National Orchestra during a four-date tour of the island, the producer opens a new chapter in the merging of classical and electronic music.
From the forty-or-so available musicians, Jérémy chose a handful of instruments and twelve performers to revisit three titles from his discography and offer seven new ones. The album floats between tradition and modernity, giving Labelle’s music a new dimension.

Listen


Ruby Rushton
Ruby Rushton
Ironside

London-based, Tenderlonious-led Jazz Quintet Ruby Rushton took the scene by storm in 2017, following up their highly acclaimed debut release Two For Joy in 2015, with not one, but two new albums – Trudi’s Songbook: Volume One & Trudi’s Songbook: Volume Two.

The new album Ironside is influenced by jazz greats but equally by contemporary urban culture. Ironside was recorded at Abbey Road’s Studio 3 in just two days – capturing the band’s essence and vitality as players. The quartet’s fresh, high energy sound is rooted in the spiritual concepts of John Coltrane and Yusef Lateef, prime period Headhunters, Afrobeat, Hip Hop, Jungle and House.

Listen


Ady Suleiman
Thoughts & Moments Vol. 1

After his acclaimed debut album Memories, Ady Suleiman released Thought & Moments Vol.1, a mixtape featuring tracks initially recorded on voice memos on his phone during the last months of his tour. In this new effort he brilliantly strolls through the R’n’B spectrum. Throughout the mixtape, his vocal poise and elegant melodies carry his experimentations, attesting to his status as a major ambassador of the new UK Neo-Soul scene.

Listen: Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 


Kiddblack
KiddBlack, Moor Sound
Here for a Good Time Not for a Long Time

Born from spontaneous studio-sessions, “Here for a Good Time, Not a Long Time” is a collaborative EP by Ghanaian rapper Kiddblack and producer Moor Sound. The vocalist, member of rising La Meme Gang collective, displays here his versatility as a songwriter and the influence of Moor Sound provides an experimental contribution with his beats, adding a new element to the project. Though laced with hip-hop party anthems and feelgood choruses, this release doesn’t lack any deepness.

Listen: Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 

Read next: Love Is Contagious, and so is WurlD’s music

6 albums à écouter cette semaine

Dans notre sélection de cette semaine : rythmes sahariens et noise rock avec le nouvel album d’Ifriqiyya Electrique, Lee Fields nous réapprend à aimer, l’ambassadeur néo-soul UK Ady Suleiman sort une mixtape et le ghanéen KiddBlack s’associe avec le producteur MoodSound sur un EP de haut vol.

Ifriqiyya Electrique
Laylet El Booree

Ifriqiyya Electrique est né de la rencontre entre Gianna Greco et François R. Cambuzat, issus de la scène européenne post-punk, et des chanteurs et percussionnistes Yahya Chouchen, Fatma Chebbi et Tarek Soltan, membres de la communauté Banga, localisée en plein désert, en Tunisie. La musique du groupe n’a jamais été composée pour un public occidental. Elle vise à ré-interpréter, avec des sonorités contemporaines, les rythmes et incantations présentes au cours des rituels Banga, dans le but d’induire des états de conscience altérée, de transe. La transformation de ces musiques traditionnelles à travers ce mélange bruitiste est qualifiée de « rituel post-industriel » par les membres du groupe. Un terme qui incarne pleinement l’esthétique punk DIY du disque et l’assemblage de rythmes ritualistes sahariens et noise rock.

Écouter 


Lee Fields & The Expressions
It Rains Love

It Rains Love est le cinquième album du parrain de la soul new-yorkaise accompagné de ses fidèles musiciens The Expressions. Cette nouvelle sortie rend hommage à l’amour -son sujet favori – en particulier à celui qu’il partage avec sa femme depuis 40 ans. Sa voix puissante et singulière vibre ici sur des arrangements presque érotiques, laissant alors entrevoir un nouveau disque maîtrisé de bout en bout et doté d’une authenticité devenue rare dans le style. Un voyage musical et romantique dans le New-York des années 70.

Écouter sur Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 


Labelle
Orchestre Univers

Pour son troisième album, Labelle s’associe à l’Orchestre National de la Réunion pour une odyssée sonore entre post-maloya et expérimentations électroniques. « Pour résumer, on m’a prêté l’Orchestre National de la Réunion, composé d’une quarantaine de musiciens […] J’en ai gardé douze, j’ai restreint volontairement l’orchestre à quelques familles d’instruments et c’est comme ça qu’est né l’Orchestre Univers, comme l’écriture des morceaux.» Composé spécialement pour l’Orchestre Univers et enregistré en live au cours de quatre concerts, l’album donne une toute autre dimension à la musique de l’artiste : entre passé et futur, transe et sérénité, organique et électronique, rythmes de l’Océan Indien et techno de Detroit, Labelle déconstruit et interroge les éléments qui composent ses morceaux.

Écouter


Ruby Rushton
Ruby Rushton
Ironside

Après un album salué par les critiques et le public, Tenderlonious revient avec le quatuor Rubby Rushton sur l’album Ironside. Influencé par les grands du jazz mais aussi par la culture urbaine contemporaine, Ironside a été enregistré au studio 3 d’Abbey Road en seulement deux jours, ce qui a permis de capter l’essence et la vitalité des musiciens. L’énergie du quatuor vient à la fois des influences de John Coltrane et Yusef Lateef mais aussi de l’afrobeat, du hip hop et de la house.

Écouter


Ady Suleiman
Thoughts & Moments Vol. 1

Après le succès de son premier album Memories, Ady Suleiman sort Thoughts & Moments Vol. 1, une mixtape de chansons nées à partir des mémos vocaux enregistrés au téléphone pendant ses derniers mois de tournée. Désormais installé au rang des grands représentants de la scène néo-soul UK, Ady Suleiman continue de parcourir le spectre R&B avec une aisance mélodique et une élégance vocale toujours plus distinguables. Ady explique : « Je ne voulais pas enchaîner tout de suite avec un autre album, je voulais un peu de temps pour expérimenter. J’avais besoin de me sentir totalement libre”

Écouter sur Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 


Kiddblack
KiddBlack, Moor Sound
Here for a Good Time Not for a Long Time

Né de sessions studio spontanées, Here for a Good Time, Not a Long Time est, comme son nom pourrait le laisser entendre, un EP rempli d’hymnes de soirées destinés à remplir les dancefloors et rester dans la tête des auditeurs. Pourtant, cette création collective est bien loin d’être dénuée de profondeur. Entre démonstrations de versatilité de la part du rappeur ghanéen KiddBlack, membre du crew La Meme Gang, et les instrumentales puissantes – aux tendances parfois expérimentales – du producteur Moor Sound, les morceaux de ce nouveau projet laissent présager de grandes choses pour l’album en route.

Écouter sur Apple Music Spotify / Deezer 

Lire ensuite : Les 30 meilleurs albums du début d’année 2019