Teni, Burna Boy, among others nominated for the 2019 MTV EMAs

With Nasty C, Prince Kaybee and Harmonize.

Nigerian superstars Teni and Burna Boy have been nominated in the Best African Act at the MTV European Music Awards (EMA). Recognized for their immense artistic achievements in the year under review, the duo of Nigerian artistes are joined by four other African artistes. 

Nasty C and Prince Kaybee, are both from South Africa, budding Tanzanian artiste Harmonize also makes list; from Togo, the duo of Toofan step up to challenge for the prestigious award. 

Notable artistes such as 2Baba, (who was the first recipient in 2005) Sauti Sol, D’Banj, and Davido have won the award; last year, the remarkable Tiwa Savage made history by becoming the first woman  to win the award. 

The 2019 MTV EMAs will be held at the FIBES Conference and Exhibition Centre in Seville, Andalusia, Spain, on 3 November 2019. This will be the fourth time, as well as the second consecutive year, that Spain hosts the awards show. It will be the first time that a country hosts back-to-back editions of the award show. 

Watch next: September’s 15 best music videos

Voici les artistes africains nominés aux MTV EMA 2019

Avec Teni, Burna Boy, Nasty C, Prince Kaybee et Harmonize.

Les superstars nigérianes Teni et Burna Boy ont été nominées dans la catégorie Meilleur acte africain aux MTV European Music Awards (EMA). Reconnus pour leurs immenses réalisations artistiques au cours de l’année, le duo d’artistes nigérians est rejoint par quatre autres artistes africains.

Nasty C et Prince Kaybee, tous deux originaires d’Afrique du Sud, l’artiste tanzanienne  Harmonize et le duo du Togo Toofan sont aussi dans la course le prestigieux prix.

Des artistes notables tels que 2Baba, Sauti Sol, D’Banj et Davido ont déjà remporté le prix. L’année dernière, Tiwa Savage est entrée dans l’histoire en devenant la première femme à remporter ce prix.

Les EMA de MTV 2019 auront lieu le 3 novembre 2019 au Centre de conférences et d’expositions FIBES de Séville, Andalousie, en Espagne. C’est la quatrième fois, et pour la deuxième année consécutive, que le concours se déroule Espagne. Ce sera la première fois qu’un pays organise deux éditions consécutives du concours.

Regarder ensuite : 20 clips qu’il ne fallait pas manquer en septembre